Motorised Shoes (Fun Video)

The idea for this was in part because he had trouble parking in Los Angeles.

A bit of a run down:
SpnKiX are battery powered and electric roller skates to be strapped on to each shoe. Each pack on the foot is built-in with motor and battery pack to be remote controlled by wireless device in hand. A wireless remote controls both feet at once.

These shoes are suppose to go up to 10 miles per hour or just over 16 km/h.
When I read this, the first thing that I thought of was this guy tearing down the foothpath (sidewalk) on these, doing top speed and just knocking over people so he could get his lunch. 😆
But saying that I think it is not that bad an idea.
What do you think?

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Motorised Shoes (Fun Video)

  1. The first thing that came to my mind was… I’d break my neck if I tried that! But still it’s a great idea and actually looks kind of fun.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi ariadnesdaughter,
      Oh yes, I would have to go at a snails pace I think, breaking of the neck sounds like something that would also happen to me. 😀

  2. Elyse says:

    Pretty funny stuff. I can’t wait to try to avoid folks texting and SpnKiX’ing on the sidewalks.

  3. gitwizard says:

    Sorry, but I think this is another stupid American idea to keep stupid Americans from excercising…..

  4. Well, as long as the user has a good sense of balance the skates could be very useful if you had a long walk to an appointment and you didn’t want to work up a sweat along the way.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I think it would certainly take a bit or a lot of practice, just like roller skating, but once you got the hang of it, it would fun. 🙂

  5. love it–with strings, i.e. one foot suddenly starts veering off in an opposite direction because it hit a stick . . . there’s a big split in the concrete of the sidewalk looming ahead . . . the person wearing them is heading right for me while I’ve got my arms full of groceries . . . black ice . . . huge hill ahead . . . the neighbour’s border collie gets out . . . I think the ‘on’ is really the ‘off’

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi weisserwatercolours,
      Unfortunately their is always a danger these days, no matter what motorized item is involved, it really comes down to the user/driver of the item/vehicle, to be always aware of what is around them. 🙂

  6. malc50 says:

    Hi Mags, Do you need 4 wheel drive (hands and feet) to traverse rough terrain? Cheers.

  7. El Guapo says:

    I would get them.
    I would love them.
    I would end up doing something incredibly stupid in them.

  8. Selma says:

    I would love a pair but knowing my luck would end up breaking something. But they are very cool!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      Yes, I’m also one of those that may break something when trying new things like this, but once learned, I expect a lot of fun. 😀

  9. Like the idea mate , its got potential , when I was in Chile the street guys would rip through the pedestrians on rollerskates and cut the handbags off peoples shoulders and be gone like a rat up a drainpipe , seriously though it is a great innovative idea but may bring on more probs than worth
    Cheers
    Ian aka Emu

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aussieian,
      Actually I have heard something similar being done in other country’s as well unfortunately. 😦
      You may be right about that one. 🙂

  10. Priya says:

    Very interesting! But I keep going to a really morbid question — do we have any less in the way of convenience and thus weight-problem-increasing goodies? Imagine the roads filled with these neat things — convenient, fast, and a nightmare for the average pizza and burger eating person.

    That said, I love it!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Priya,
      I had to have a smile at:
      “convenient, fast, and a nightmare for the average pizza and burger eating person.”
      You could be right about that one. 😀

  11. tempo says:

    I see a leg going in either direction and me having a hard time describing the injuries to the hospital staff…

  12. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    Yeah, I’m with gitwizard on this. Americans don’t need any more excuses to avoid exercising. At least Rollerblading provided a bit of a workout!

  13. purefluff says:

    Ha ha! It does have potential, and I got a laugh at some of the comments too … we gotta show a little tolerance, huh … even towards the over-eaters. I’d love to try them, if I lived in a different climate and where the sidewalks were smooth… not like here.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi purefluff,
      We have some bad sidewalks as well, but still you see people on their motorised scooters, roller skates etc., but you would be going pretty slow just in case. 😀
      I also would love to try them, I think it would take a bit a practice, but it would be fun.
      Thank You very much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  14. Rebekah says:

    I see now that I was logged in to my other account in my comment… I’ve started a WP-blog for the photo challenge on Fridays..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      Thank You for the info.
      Will you be posting on Fridays in your original WP blog, or have you started a new one?

      • Rebekah says:

        no, in the new one … that’s how I made the mistake, commenting above as purefluff..

        • magsx2 says:

          Oh, so you are purefluff, seeing as how I had to OK the comment I thought you were someone new. 😀
          I will make sure I have your WP blog in my RSS feed. 🙂

          • Rebekah says:

            yes, I’d been in there and done something and forgot to sign out … most of the time in the future, that will be a once-a-week blog..

            I will admit that I miss certain stuff in WordPress though 😉

  15. E.C. says:

    Those look like fun. I can see a lot of good and helpful things coming from these shoes. Thanks for sharing about them and the video. 🙂

  16. travelrat says:

    Might well catch on; after all, the pavements these days are already jammed with scooters, roller skates/blades, skateboards and Segways. But, I see limited usage in this country; imagine trying to control these things in the rain, with a load of shopping and an umbrella to deal with.

  17. Pedestrians are going to have to get extra insurance – “You were hit by what, Madam?!” – because I don’t suppose that the users of these things will have third-party insurance.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      Your right, there would be no insurance, no different than the other motorised things that are being used, but it would be hard to explain. 🙂

Leave a Reply

