New World Record: World’s Longest Bike (Video)

A new world record for the longest motorbike ever made. Spanning just under 22meters or 72 feet in length, with a top speed of 56.33 km/h or 35mph. It was built by Colin Furze, a plumber from Lincolnshire, UK, in his Mothers back garden.
Guinness Wold Records required the motorbike must be driven over 100 meters or half a mile as well. Colin was able to drive the bike for just under 1.7 kilometres or 1 mile.

This entry was posted in Fun, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to New World Record: World’s Longest Bike (Video)

  1. top99news says:

    congrats on achieving this…
    Nice blog and very good article….

    Please do visit for today’s new headlines http://top99news.com

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi top99news,
      I thought your blog was very informative.
      Sorry I didn’t see your comment ealier, it went into spam, which I have only just checked.
      Thank you for the visit and taking the time to comment.

  2. mikekrabal says:

    Excellent craftsmanship although I would have loved to see this with a sportbike based motorcycle instead of a scooter. None the less a neat project!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi mikekrabal,
      He did a great job putting this together, I suspect it wouldn’t of been easy. 🙂
      Thank You very much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  3. I’ve never — ever — seen anything like it!

  4. wolke205 says:

    Just wow! I had to smile about the name “Furze”, in german it means to fart lol Have a great evening 🙂

  5. Funny! I’d like to see it driving down the road full of people!

  6. travelrat says:

    Should have ended the video with a copper nicking him for riding without a helmet!

    And, I think the Guinness Book of Records should require him to turn a corner and pop a wheelie! 😀

  7. Rebekah says:

    The human mind never ceases to amaze me …. to just come up with the idea in the first place!

    Stunning work, though …but as you said here above — I’d love to see him turn a corner LOL

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      It’s unbelivable he was able to move it so far, I should imagine it must of been pretty hard, I assume it would of been wobbling all over the place. 😀

  8. jakesprinter says:

    Great post my friend total entertainment I wish i have one
    I make it passenger vehicle here lol ,Thanks for sharing 🙂
    http://wp.me/P1Dwwo-nN

  9. barb19 says:

    The ingenuity of humans never ceases to amaze me – he did a fabulous job of building this and then riding it for 1.7 kilometres is awesome; I would imagine it would have felt quite unsteady. Like to see him turn a corner though! 😉

  10. El Guapo says:

    Leaving the impossibility of turning for a moment, where would you park it???
    This guy has built a monument to foolishness. That’s awesome and I wholeheartedly approve!

  11. Arindam says:

    I’d love to ride that bike. 🙂 As always thank you for this post Mags. 🙂

  12. tempo says:

    What a waste of time making this thing was, it makes me wonder…’WHY?’ Clearly it wouldn’t hold any more people or the middle would scrape and bend so it’s really just a publicity stunt.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi tempo,
      He only made it to get the World Record, so all the hard work paid off, he is now in the record books. The last one that had this World Record that he had to beat was 14 meters long, so I think this one will be staying in the book for a long time.

  13. I bet Mother just loved having it in her backyard while he was making it. Oh well, at least it kept him off the street and out of the pubs for a while.

  14. The Emu says:

    I can’t believe that , really a great masterpiece
    The only question I have is that I noticed it was filmed moving with only the driver
    and the only pic with passengers was a still pic , did it break a record for longest bike without passengers , as it looked to me it would not support passengers , dont mean to be picky but the bike doesn’t look able to support passengers
    Cheers
    Emu

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi The Emu,
      To get the world record requires no passengers.
      None of the “Long Bikes” that were built over the years for the record carried any passengers. I doubt very much with the length of these bikes that they would be able to move, they would never support passengers. I assume the photo with the passengers was for a publicity photo only.

      • The Emu says:

        Thought so mate , but still a great achevement
        Cheers
        Emu

      • travelrat says:

        I know the machine is in no way road legal, but, over here, it is written that a motor bike shall carry no more than two people unless fitted with a sidecar.

        • magsx2 says:

          You Know travelrat, I haven’t seen a bike with a sidecar for many years, I never really thought about it before, but it’s something I remember seeing more of when I was younger, I wonder why, a mystery. 🙂

          • travelrat says:

            The guy across the road from me has one … a restored ex-Russian Army Cossack. And, I saw some in Adelaide at the Australia Day parade in 2006 … the South Australia Police used them a lot, and have preserved a couple.

            They were, as I remember, rather temperamental to handle. I picked one up for a friend once, and nearly came to grief a couple of times when I forgot, and tried to heel it over like a solo motor bike.

          • magsx2 says:

            No wonder nobody uses them any more, too dangerous really, being that hard to handle, especially today with the amount of traffic we all have.

  15. Selma says:

    WOAH. Now that is amazing. I am grateful however, that he is not riding in one of the bike lanes in the Sydney CBD. That would drive me crazy. LOL.

  16. You really find some interesting and amazing things! Have a great weekend!

  17. Pingback: New World Record: Golf Shot Caught by a Moving Car (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

