Queensland Floods Jan 2012 (Pictures/Videos)

Well here we go again, there has been very heavy rain in Brisbane where I live which is the Capitol of Queensland, for the last couple of days, and flash flooding has started. Thank goodness it doesn’t seem as bad as last years January floods. This of course is our wet season.

So far there have been evacuations in Burpengary just north of Brisbane, and also some evacuations in Narangba, again just north of Brisbane, and also on the Gold Coast south of Brisbane. There is flooding in most of the coastal areas, and the rain doesn’t look like giving up anytime soon, they are predicting the rain will continue till Sunday 29th Jan 2012.

                                Picture from the Brisbane Times Picture Gallery

It is Australia Day tomorrow and a lot of celebrations have been cancelled for obvious reasons. There are a lot of roads closed, and a lot of people will not be going to work for a few days I imagine. There will be a lot of hold ups as well on public transport as there is water across some train lines, as well as buses will have to take different routes to get around the closed roads.
For information on closed roads around the Brisbane area go here, for others please check your local paper for the information in your area.

                                Picture from the Courier Mail Picture Gallery

As I’m typing this, I’m listening to the radio, and things do seem to be getting worse, it is literally pouring outside, very heavy rain, and very noisy. With all the flood water that is around as usual there are always idiots that will try to drive through the waters, 2 more people have just been rescued, honestly when will people learn how dangerous flood waters can be.

 
                                Pictures from The Courier Mail Picture Gallery

Some people when they finished work yesterday found their cars either washed down the creek, or flood waters up to the car doors. Please anyone living in Queensland or visiting be very careful if you have to drive on the roads, there have been small accidents everywhere, the rain is so heavy it is hard to see the road clearly, and there is a lot of water on the sides of the roads as well.
Courier Mail Picture Gallery     –     Brisbane Times Picture Gallery

If for some reason you cannot watch the vidoes below these are the links to watch them on You Tube. Video 1   –  Vidoe2

This entry was posted in Australia, Queensland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Queensland Floods Jan 2012 (Pictures/Videos)

  1. gitwizard says:

    Happy Australia Day for tomorrow and I hope the floods will not affect you too much.

  2. df barker says:

    Fascinating post! I was offered a job in Brisbane once. Despite the floods, I wish I’d taken it more seriously.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi df barker,
      Oh what a shame you didn’t take the job, we have flooding here in Brisbane, but it is our normal wet season. I grew up here in Brisbane, over the years I have lived in different places, but I always seem to come back. 🙂

  3. Keeping my fingers crossed for you there! Are you higher up? Are you affected directly by the river itself?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi weisserwatercolours,
      Our Home has never been flooded as such, no water has ever come into the house itself, so we are very lucky. But we certainly have a lot of water laying around the yard, like everyone else, the ground just won’t take any more rain.

  4. barb19 says:

    Thanks for this post Mags, you are having it bad in Brisbane again I see. I keep praying it’s not going to be a repeat of last year’s devastating floods – the forecasters say it wont be, so I hope they’re right.
    The rain has been non-stop up here on the Fraser Coast but nothing too serious as yet. We have to drive into town this morning (Hervey Bay); hope we get through as we were cut off last year with the floods.
    I guess it will be a very quiet Australia Day tomorrow! Stay safe.
    I’ve re-blogged your post.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi barb19,
      We are also hearing that it won’t be as bad as last years floods, I also would hate see that again. I have been watching the radar as well as listening to the radio, and I noticed yesterday and overnight you had very heavy rain up your way as well.

      There are reports just coming in of 2 Lady’s missing after being swept away in their car, the car has been found, they are still searching for the Lady’s, when will people learn to stay away from flooded roads. 😦

      Update:
      The 2 Lady’s have now been found safe and well.

      • barb19 says:

        Yeah, it was really heavy most of last night up here but no serious flooding yet – that we know of. We got into town this morning without any trouble.
        I heard about the two ladies being found safe, but thanks for the update.

  5. Rebekah says:

    Very interesting reading, Mags, even though I realize it’s a mess. I see in the comments that your home won’t get affected and that’s at least a relief. Where we lived in QC, each Spring and Fall we had the basement full of water.

    I remember last year’s flooding in Australia — it was horrible..

    Stay dry 🙂

  6. barb19 says:

    Reblogged this on Passionate About Pets & People and commented:
    I’ve re-blogged this post from Magsx2’s blog as we both live in the areas affected by the current rising flood waters. Barb

  7. malc50 says:

    Thanks for the update, Mags. We had a fair bit of rain last night, but not bad enough for the dog to sleep inside – she insisted on being let out into the back yard. The sun is shining in Townsville at present. Cheers and all the best for Australia Day tomorrow (I’ve got some Australian lamb to cook in the Weber, if the weather is fine.)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      Our dog was not happy this morning, she didn’t get her morning walk, 🙂 the rain was just too heavy.
      I’m happy to hear the sun is out up there, it is only lightly raining at the moment here which is very good, it does give some of the water a chance to get away, but lots more rain coming unfortunately.

      That sounds great Mal, you obviously picked out a webber you liked, I hope you have a great day tomorrow, and the sun stays out for you. 😀

  8. jmgoyder says:

    Looks quite scary – and over here a heat wave!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi jmgoyder,
      It is scary for a few people, a few would of woke up this morning only to find flood waters starting to come into their homes unfortunately.
      A heatwave, try and stay cool.

  9. Goodness, gracious, sakes alive — I sure hope you stay safe, sound, and dry!

  10. Fergiemoto says:

    Oh my, that’s a lot of rain. I experienced a few of these where I used to live, in the eastern USA.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Fergiemoto,
      Yes there is a lot of water about, and still more coming down.
      Flood waters are devastating, especially to those people where the water enteres their home, I hope you didn’t have any major problems when you were in Eastern USA.

  11. Wow. Been through a few of those when we lived in Winnipeg. Water is a scary thing. Keep your head up.

  12. Rayya says:

    Thinking of you mags, You guys have had it rough over the last 2 years.. hang in there mate 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rayya,
      Yes we have been hit with a few things from Nature over the past couple of years, but one thing is for sure when it’s over there will be no shortage of people that will get in and help others.

      I know how busy you are, and I want to Thank You for taking the time to comment.

  13. The Emu says:

    Amazing country ours is mate , remember living in Clifton up there , just out of Toowoomba a few years back , the days when there was a decade of drought , we had water restrictions down to bucket watering , and if I remember rightly we were given shower timers , amazing how things change so quickly , keep your tinder dry and your matches high mate as Hughy will bring more down
    Emu aka Ian

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi The Emu,
      Yes when we have a long drought and then flooding rains, I always think of the famous poem about Australia:

      “My Country” written by Dorothea Mackellar back in the early 1900’s

      I love a sunburnt country,
      A land of sweeping plains,
      Of ragged mountain ranges,
      Of droughts and flooding rains.
      I love her far horizons,
      I love her jewel-sea,
      Her beauty and her terror
      The wide brown land for me!

      For those that don’t know this poem and would like to read all the verses, I found it here.

      • malc50 says:

        Hi again Mags, This poem holds special significance for me, 41 years ago this month (January 1971), I had successfully completed a B.Sc. degree majoring in Mathematics, and was about to do a Diploma in Education to become a High School Maths/Physics teacher. Before commencing the Secondary Dip. Ed. course, part of the orientation activities was to spend a week in a Primary School (I was assigned to a Year 7 and then a Year 5 class). I observed a number of lessons, accompanied my supervising teacher on playground duty, and was required to teach a couple of lessons. Two of the lessons I was required to teach were (i) long division and (ii) Dorothea Mackellar’s “My Country”. I thought the first would be a piece of cake, as Maths was my forte, but the lesson was an abject failure. The second, “My Country”, I thought was beyond me – how do you teach poetry? – I put in a lot of thought and preparation and it went well, with lots of positive feedback from the students. I have fond memories of students’ reactions to “My Country” and less than fond memories of an under-prepared lesson on how to do long division. Have a great Australia Day tomorrow! Cheers, Mal.

        • magsx2 says:

          That is unreal Mal, it’s funny how some things work out. But you obviously done better the next time with Maths, you have been teaching it for long time now. 🙂

  14. dearrosie says:

    That much water falling so quickly is very scary. How do you walk the dog when its pouring like that?

    I also cannot understand why people think their car will be able to act like a boat and drive through a river.

    Thanks for sharing the poem.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      I couldn’t walk the dog that is way she was a bit upset this morning, you literally couldn’t see, the rain was that heavy.
      I also will never understand why people try to drive through flood waters, there has been a huge number of people that had to be rescued from the waters, they not only put themselves into danger, but the people that try to rescue them as well.

      It’s a beautiful poem and I originally learned about Dorothea Mackellar at school, all those years ago. 🙂

  15. tempo says:

    I’m hoping it doesn’t get the levels of last year…it’s a real pity the floods cant be turned inland where the water can really be used. The amount of underground water in the huge basins of QLD and SA suggest this huge rainfall was the norm yearly until recent history (a few thousand years ago)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi tempo,
      In this day and age a lot of this flooding can be avoided I feel, there is no reason at all why water cannot be diverted to where it is needed, the reason is the powers that be will not spend the money on such a project. They seem to waste money on the most ridiculous things, the mind boggles.

      Don’t forget Australia had an inland sea many thousands of years ago as well, we have always have very server droughts and floods, I can remember as a kid one year I couldn’t get home from school because of flood water, and I stayed at a friends house for the night, it was fun and an adventure back then. 😀

  16. This conjures up the horror of last year’s floods and the quote from a gentleman flood victim being interviewed on television: “We don’t need tears; there’s been enough water around here already.” I spent so much time crying about one horror story after another last year that I sincerely hope that no-one is killed this time and that no houses are washed away.

    How can people walk in the floodwater with all those snakes and crocodiles that can swim down into the city, or even just tree branches hidden under the water ready to wound the unwary? As for cars, drivers always seem to think that they are safe inside them, no matter what. “When will they ever learn? When will they ever learn?”, as the song goes.

    Droughts and flooding rains, indeed. (I always thought that that poem should have been our national anthem since the Government absolutely wanted to get rid of “God Save the Queen”. The one we have now doesn’t measure up at all, in my opinion. I always think it sounds silly. Whereas, the blind poetess Dorothea Mackellar’s “My Country”, which we all learned at school, always brings a tear to my eye.)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      So far so good, I haven’t heard of any deaths here in Brisbane at least, this was thanks to the great effort of our Emergency Services, and also volunteers, that rescued scores of people today. No houses have been washed away, but a lot of people have had flood water enter their homes and they were rescued. Snakes have been a big problem this year, so there will most likely be more around now, as the waters flush them out. Last year there was snakes everywhere in the waters, but people still walk through, I have no idea why.

      The rain has eased right off at the moment, however there are storm warnings out, but it looks like these may by-pass Brisbane. Phase 2 and 3 of this weather pattern will hit us Friday night and is suppose to continue till Tuesday, with very heavy rain across most of Queensland, so more to come yet.

      It is a beautiful poem, and I have heard this made into a song, I don’t know if the kids today still learn this at school now, it would be a shame if they don’t.

  17. E.C. says:

    Goodness, this is awful. My thoughts and prayers go out to you & your family and the region for you all to start drying out soon. Stay safe and take care.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi E.C.
      Thank You. The rain has eased off for now, so tonight there are a lot of people doing the big clean up, but apparently we are in for some very bad weather starting Friday night, so I think we all have our fingers crossed.

  18. souldipper says:

    Oh Mags, my heart goes out to you people! What a horrible ordeal. I watched videos last year and was shocked. Made me thankful that I live on a “rock” and the rain just thunders down to the ocean. Take care!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi souldipper,
      Thank You.
      We certainly have had a lot of rain and more coming unfortunately, you are definitely in a great position, where the water can just run off.

  19. aFrankAngle says:

    Wow … I recall last week when you told me that it was raining a lot … no kidding. I know I’m late, but I hope the situation has improved. (Sorry that I’m not up it).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aFrankAngle,
      It’s still raining, but only light rain, some areas are still in flood, but a lot of roads have reopened, it is supposed to stay this way till Tuesday, but the water is slowly going down.
      I know you have been very busy at work, I appreciate you taking the time to comment on my blog.

  20. Selma says:

    I hope you are OK, Mags. It’s terrible to think that Queensland is experiencing more flooding and heavy rain this year. A lot of people must be very nervous. I hope it stops soon.

  21. Several of your posts went to my spam box and I missed them so I’m just reading this now. I hope everything turned out ok. Flooding can be so devastating. My parents house was flooded during the floods in PA this past September. They are still repairing damage, recovering, etc.. Luckily no one was hurt, but they did lose a lot. It can be traumatic when your lives are turned upside down literally overnight. So… my belated thoughts go out to everyone there.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi ariadnesdaughter,
      It is a terrible thing to happen when you lose everything. When something like this happens, I think it makes everything more frustrating, because there is nothing you can do about it, all you can do is just watch. 😦

Leave a Reply

