Kayaking With Whales (Video)

The blue whale is the largest living animal on earth.
The Average fully grown blue whales are around 100 – 120 tons, their tongue is around 3 to 5 tons, they are around 30 metres or 98 feet long.
Their heart is compared to the size of a small car.
The blue whale will consume as much as 4 – 6 tons of krill a day.

From You Tube:
From 10/8/2011. A whale lunge feeding right next to the Kayak, plus some underwater footage. While the lunge feed was heart pounding excitement, I found that seeing one undewater was relaxing and peaceful. Was an awesome day!!! Shot with GoPro 1080 w/ mako flat lens.

Whale watching guidelines

 

You may also like to see some other whale posts from my blog:

 

This entry was posted in Animals, Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Kayaking With Whales (Video)

  1. Nice find, something I have always wanted to do.

  2. He’s very lucky that the whales were so patient. I wouldn’t like someone getting in my way when I’m trying to eat.

  3. Completely, totally, and utterly amazing (especially if I didn’t die from a heart attack, first).

  4. Windsmoke. says:

    A bit to close for my liking, but Whales are definitely majestic animals and should be left alone and not slaughtered for food like the Japanese Whalers do in the guise of scientific research :-(.

  5. Was I watching a horror film or a peaceful excursion on the sea? I was so nervous that I might as well have been watching the former. If he had capsized in view of the whale would the whale swallow him as in Jonah and the Whale, or Geppetto’s experiences?

    Ronnie

  6. elcampeador says:

    Terrific video, Mags.

  7. coolfeline says:

    Oh my goodness, Mags … this was a terrific video!!! What a remarkable experience that must have been for that guy! We have whale watching here too, but I’ve never gone on a tour. This ecouraged me to make a point of going this coming summer…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi coolfeline,
      Oh you should definitely go whale watching if you can, it really is an experience to behold, the magnificence of these animals is really appreciated when you actually see them in the open waters, it is something that you will never forget.

  8. Anyluckypeny says:

    Wow! I always wanted to see whales up close! They were one of my favorite animals growing up! I loved going to Sea World in San Diego when I was little πŸ™‚ I didn’t get that close to the whales, but I did see them from a distance!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Anyluckypeny,
      That’s great that you got to see them, it’s wonderful that the Sea Worlds are able to have so many different animals, we also have Sea World here as well, they also help a lot of injured marine life, they have a really good name here.

  9. Arindam says:

    Hi Mags.
    It’s a really amazing post. Great job. πŸ™‚

  10. E.C. says:

    I’ve always wanted to see the whales, but not like he did. Nope, that may have been exciting, but not very wise IMO.
    Great video, I’m glad he lived to show it and tell about it. πŸ˜‰

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi E.C.
      I agree, I also think he was lucky, I noticed a few others out there as well, the whales are so big, that accidents do happen, like my other post about the whale that landed in the yacht.
      If you ever get the chance to go whale watching with a proper whale watching tour, you will really enjoy it.

  11. barb19 says:

    They are braver than me! Brilliant video Mags; there is so much we still don’t know about the underwater world and it’s creatures. Whales are magnificent and I am in awe of them, and their size.
    As you know, I live in Hervey Bay, the whale watching capital of Australia, and I’m embarrassed to say we have never been out on a whale-watching trip, but hope to do it next year. I see you enjoyed your experience – did you go out from Hervey Bay?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi barb19,
      You are spot on, there is just so much to learn, and more to be discovered as well.

      Yes we took the whale tour from Hervey Bay, we have been a couple of times, but the time the baby came up to the boat, was of course the best. The people actually stopped the boat altogether, we were “dead” in the water, as he seen the baby heading for us, the baby came up at the back, it was really funny because everyone then ran to the back of the boat. πŸ˜€

  12. travelrat says:

    I have two questions:

    Where is the nearest place I can see whales? and
    How much are those ocean kayaks and underwater cameras?

    Awesome … in the original sense of the word!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      Well you are coming back to “The Land Downunder” for a holiday this year, there are whale watching tours way up in Darwin, if you are going that far, or you can take a huge detour to Queensland and go for it. πŸ˜€
      The underwater camera’s are awesome aren’t they, it’s a shame they are very expensive, as the new technology comes out though the “old” stock should came down in price, or you would think so. πŸ™‚

      • travelrat says:

        I’m looking at the Nikon AW100 … completely waterproof, and takes still and video. It’s been released in the US and Oz for some time, but only just in UK … neither Jessops or LCE can quote me a price yet.

  13. aFrankAngle says:

    Whoa … talk about too close for comfort, but then again, I imagine quite the rush for the guy. Great find Mags!

  14. El Guapo says:

    I’ve seen this one before, Magsx2. Love it, and can’t wait until my turn comes for that experience!
    Though we don’t get many whales in ny…

  15. Life would be dull without people brave enough to kayak with whales, AND take video for the rest of us to watch and enjoy vicariously. I’d be scared to be THAT close but probably more in awe of such a giant creature of the sea. Whales, in my opinion, are to be revered. I know some native tribes still are allowed to kill the whale only if they eat the meat they slaughter. I understand, but I know I could never hard such a magnificent specimen. Never. Great video Mags.

  16. Selma says:

    So breathtaking. I could cry watching it. I can’t tell you how much I would love to do that, to see the whale up close like that. Some people are born adventurers!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      I agree, some people are born adventurers. It would be so wonderful to be able to swim with the whales, but it would take courage. πŸ™‚

  17. dearrosie says:

    What synchronicity! We were out watching whales last weekend – saw 3 California Gray Whales near the boat, but not nearly as close as this kayaker.

  18. I’m so glad he didn’t end up as the whale’s dinner!
    Of course, the whales shouldn’t be our dinner, either.

  19. Fergiemoto says:

    AWESOME! Wow, what an experience! I would be both excited and frightened at the same time.

  20. Cafe23 says:

    Oh my GAWD. What a rush!!! All I’d be thinking about if I was the kayaker is whether the whale would suddenly rise up from underneath my kayak and lift me into the air. Scary!!!

  21. We’ve gone on a couple of memorable whale watches off Cape Cod, but the whales were not as big as the blue whale. I wouldn’t feel safe out there in a kayak, but I’m glad that some folks have an adventuresome spirit and share their thrilling experiences with the rest of us!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      The blue whale is the largest of them all, and I agree, I couldn’t do it, but thank goodness their are people out there that can show us what it was like. πŸ™‚

  22. Pingback: Whale Watching Season: Australia (Pictures/Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

