Mountain Biker Gets Hit by an Antelope: South Africa (Video)

Mountain biker gets taken out by an antelope, Evan van der Spuy of Team Jeep South Africa got taken out by a red hartebees at the Time Freight Express MTB race at Albert Falls Dam. The footage was taken by team mate Travis Walker on his GoPro Camera.

You may also like to see this post as well from my blog:

Take the Ride of Your Life (Awesome Video)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Mountain Biker Gets Hit by an Antelope: South Africa (Video)

  1. wolke205 says:

    I hope no one was injured 😉

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi wolke205,
      Just near the end of the video, you see the guy that got hit by the antelope, get up and touch his head, no doubt a few bruises, and it would of hurt big time I’m assuming.

  2. Windsmoke. says:

    I reckon the biker was attacked by the antelope and not hit as the video shows at the end in slow motion the antelope lowering its head and striking the biker, frightening all the same :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      Yes I think you are spot on, I had another look at the video, and it certainly does look like the antelope deliberately attacked, obviously didn’t like the intrusion on his territory. 🙂

  3. It was perhaps the rut season. Those antlers look very dangerous. Not to mention the hooves. The rider was well-inspired to be wearing a helmet. Although it probably wouldn’t have stopped concussion or broken bones. He appears to have been very lucky. Did the buck come out of it without damage?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      If you look closely at the video, you see the antelope continuing to run away, so it didn’t look like it was hurt at all, I think it may have been proud of itself for stopping the biker. 🙂

  4. malc50 says:

    I hate to think how the biker may have fared if he wasn’t wearing a helmet.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      I have a feeling that if he hadn’t of had a helmet on things would of been a lot worse. You can see him feel the side of his head, so he was very lucky. It was an official bike race, so I would take a guess and say that helmets were compulsory.

  5. coolfeline says:

    When I was watching it the first time, my first thought was; What a highly unlikely event! You’re out biking in the middle of nowhere and get hit by an antelope! That’s like here, when you read about collisions, taking place three, four in the morning …that’s also unlikely, considering how many that are out driving here at that time!

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    The antelope wasn’t a happy camper, as noted by the lowering of the head. Ouch!

  7. elcampeador says:

    Mountain biker gets taken out by an antelope

    Good God, does he ever..

  8. xdeviantonex says:

    Lol…classic. animal kingdom layeth the smacketh down!

  9. Anyluckypeny says:

    Ouch! I would think that mirrors on the side of bicycles would be a good idea in South Africa, you never know what animals will be running beside you 🙂

  10. jakesprinter says:

    Great bike action my friend 🙂

  11. tempo says:

    I love this vid…I’ve seen it before but it makes me laugh every time.
    My vote goes to the deer, KO in one hit

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi tempo,
      I’m glad you still enjoyed the video, the antelope was sure moving fast, didn’t stop and think about it, just straight in for the kill. 🙂

  12. dearrosie says:

    My word it’s so scary how the antelope just comes running out of the bush like that.
    My husband thinks antelopes don’t have good eyesight and took the cyclist for a rival male.

  13. travelrat says:

    Having seen the mess a deer made of my car when we collided, I’d say he was lucky. The police reckoned if I’d been driving a smaller car, I could have been killed or injured!

  14. Selma says:

    They were both going like rockets. I would never have expected that to happen. Ouch!

  15. The GoPro camera sales are going through the roof, people hoping to create a moment like this that goes viral. Our motorcycle racing son uses cameras on his helmet and on his bike to capture events. I only look at the video when I know he’s in the house, safe, no broken bones.

    I agree with others here that it’s odd that out in the open plan, one biker and one antelope would cross at the exact same time. What are the chances?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      They are an amazing camera, there are as you know, stacks of videos now with people using these camera.
      Yes he was unlucky, it would be this type of thing that would happen to me if I was in the race, I’m sure of it. 🙂

  16. El Guapo says:

    Everyone has sympathy for the biker, but I bet he upset the antelope before the race. Maybe he stuck his thumbs against his temples and made vulgar antler shapes or something…

    Glad they both could walk away form it though!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi El Guapo,
      You may be right there. 🙂
      If you look closely at the video, you notice the back legs of the antelope actually goes sideways and it looks like it landed pretty hard on it’s hip, I’d say they were both very lucky.

  17. Ianus Christius says:

    Accidents happen when you least expect it…

  18. aFrankAngle says:

    Is it possible that the rider had a antlers on the front of the bike?

  19. Poor biker – he looks so stunned. I think the antelope probably was aiming for the biker, as mentioned above, perceived the biker as a threat somehow. Glad he’s all right. What a story he will have to tell his children and grandchildren!

  20. Fergiemoto says:

    Wow, that looked like quite a painful impact. Major ouch!

Leave a Reply

