Largest Cave in the World: Vietnam (Video)

Back in 1991 a local found the cave now known as Hang Son Doong cave, which means Mountain River Cave. This cave is very well hidden in the jungle and not easy to get to, it is located near the Laos-Vietnam border.
The local man heard a strange sound, which turned out to be the underground river system.

It wasn’t until 2009 that a team of British scientists form the British Cave Research Association, led by Howard and Deb Limbert, conducted a survey. What they found was astonishing. We now know it is the largest cave in the world.

A half-mile block of 40-story buildings could fit inside this lit stretch of Hang Son Doong, which may be the world’s biggest subterranean passage. Photo by Carsten Peter.
This photo is available as free wallpaper for your computer from National Geographic.
That light that you see, is actually coming fromΒ a helmet.

You have to see the magnificent photos of this cave, I promise you will be not believe the beauty of it all with the awesome river system, the colours are out of this world, in fact, it is like another world inside this cave. There is even a jungle inside the cave where a bit of the roof collapsed and the light it has generated has created another jungle.
View these pictures in National Geographic.

Read about the adventure from the cave explorers. National Geographic.

This is part 1, there are 3 videosΒ  in this series.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Largest Cave in the World: Vietnam (Video)

  1. Oh my gosh — it IS like another world. One that’s yet unspoiled by mankind.

  2. Anyluckypeny says:

    It’s incredible the hidden places in the world! Imagine all of the undiscovered places, our planet is filled with amazing beautiful places πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Anyluckpeny,
      In this particular area in Vietnam, there are over 150 caves yet to be explored, who knows what else in other parts of the world are yet to be found, we really do live on an amazing planet.

  3. El Guapo says:

    Very “Journey to the Center of the Earth”!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi El Guapo,
      I also thought of that movie as well when I first saw some of the pictures, it is very much so, the size of the cave just blew me away. πŸ™‚

  4. elcampeador says:

    Just took a quick look, breathtaking. Noticed some of it is terraced, it had to be inhabited at one time, no? As typed, just a quick look, no details..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi elcampeador,
      They haven’t yet found any signs that this cave was inhabited. A lot of the caves in Vietnam was used during the war, but no sign of that in this one.

  5. Windsmoke. says:

    Its more like a long tunnel or a worm hole you get in outer space. Hopefully when everybody has finished exploring the caves they will just leave it be :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      Yes you would hope so, but while I was researching this cave, I came across a couple of travel places that were advertising tours to the cave, although I didn’t bother looking at them, I assume it would only be a very small part of the cave, and I have no idea how they would get the tourists to the destination, it really is in the jungle.

  6. coolfeline says:

    One never ceases to get amazed over what this planet can present to us… I don’t know how far in I would like to go though…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi coolfeline,
      I would love to go all through this cave, I am really taken with the photos and videos I have seen of this place, it is just awesome. πŸ™‚

  7. This is incredible. Thanks for sharing.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi thoughtsontheatre,
      I agree it is really incredible, another world has been found. πŸ™‚
      Thank You very much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  8. I watched all three parts. That underground jungle was quite astounding. Long skinny trunks on the trees which had become deciduous, while their brothers on the surface are evergreens, with a lot more leaves. Same DNA, just adaptation to local conditions. It must be the same for humans. It makes you think, doesn’t it?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      Wow, good on you, I also watched all the videos, absolutely amazing place. I totally agree, it does make you think. There are also different animals that have adjusted to their environment, you only have to look back in history as different plants and animals have changed, nature is an amazing thing.

  9. E.C. says:

    Awesome! When I see such beautiful mysterious and secret places, I can see how the inner-earth stories may have developed in some areas. πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi E.C.
      It is very mysterious, a perfect word for this cave. πŸ™‚
      I love all those inner-earth stories, I love reading those type of stories in books, and I love seeing those type of movies.

  10. That is really cool! I would love to see this place in person. Thanks so much for sharing!

  11. tempo says:

    Who knows what wonders there are still to be found, explored, then destroyed by tourists. Of course I’d like to be one of the first through it…

  12. The Emu says:

    Unbelievable mate , yet then again as a Vietnam Vet I am not surprised at the mysterys that this country holds having seen a few myself , great blog , thanks for sharing
    Emu aka Ian

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Ian,
      Oh yes there is still a lot in the jungles of Vietnam to explore yet, they have a list. They have been going back to this cave now over a 3 year period, and there is still a lot they have to map apparently.

  13. travelrat says:

    … and I thought Jenolan was amazing!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      The Jenolan Caves are fantastic, and some of the caves there have a special beauty, but this cave in Vietnam I think would make all the other caves look fairly ordinary. πŸ™‚

      • travelrat says:

        I said something like this in my blog; if you’ve never been down a cave before, Wookey Hole would appear pretty spectacular. But, if you’ve visited (e.g.) Ingleborough, Kelly Hill or Jenolan, it’s pretty ordinary. Likewise, this puts the others into shade.

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    I didn’t know of this place. Thanks. The Natl Geo pics are over-the-top stunning!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aFrankAngle,
      I’m happy to hear you looked at the photos, they are unbelievable aren’t they, the size of the cave, the underwater caverns, the colours are truly magnificent.

  15. Cafe23 says:

    SO beautiful!! I love that computer visual of it, shows just how huge and long it is. And I believe I’ve actually read the National Geographic article of it in the magazine, but I don’t think it had all of those pics they have online. Anyways, so cool and scary and amazing that people go into those caves and explore!

  16. We spent a month in Vietnam back in the year 2000. Crawled through many a cave and also through war tunnels, used to hide the VietCong (the most famous is the Cu Chi tunnels outside Saigon). We met some of the most incredible people and witnessed a pure culture, then untouched by Westerners. We did not see this cave however. The video is wonderful, although I would have been afraid.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/720577.stm

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      Yes there are plenty of tunnels over there that was used during the war, and a lot of the caves were used as well in certain areas.
      Thank You for the link, a very interesting article.

  17. BoJo Photo says:

    Astonishing. How could a cave so huge go unnoticed so long? Great video.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi BoJo Photo,
      It is truly amazing. From what I read in the article, it was very deep in the jungle and very well hidden, if it had not of been for the local man hearing “something strange” we still wouldn’t know about it. πŸ™‚

  18. Wow! A spelunker’s paradise! I started watching the second video last night and was interrupted, so I came back first thing this morning. What an amazing place! My sister teaches geology – I’m going to send her the link in case she hasn’t seen it or showed it to her students. Thanks for discovering this, Mags!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      The cave is like another world, it is huge, you don’t realize how huge until you see the size of a person standing there compared to what is around them.
      The video is facinating, I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

      I’m sure your sister has heard about this, but I hope she still enjoys the post. πŸ™‚

  19. wowee, mags. Thank you for posting this!

  20. Elyse says:

    Thanks, Mags. I am SO glad I waited to watch this until I had time to really savor it. Awesome! You find the best stuff!

  21. Selma says:

    It’s like something from a movie. Quite beautiful yet I think it would be nerve-wracking to actually go down there. You never know what you might come across.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      Actually I wondered if they will eventually come across a new species of animal, the cave is so deep and as never been disturbed, it does make you wonder.

  22. How marvellous is this !
    Mags, could you give me the links to the 2 videos you posted?

    I am looking at pictures from the National Geographic link you shared. Would really appreciate the links, if it’s not too much trouble. Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous info!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi An Idealist Thinker,
      Do you mean Part 2 and 3, of the series?
      Part 2
      Part 3

      • Thank you Mags. Actually, I meant for the 2 you showed us in your post. Not to worry.. I got all the 3 parts of the series from the links you gave me.

        Just a last one, could you also give me the link to the 3D animation video of the cave, you posted? I was unable to find it on youtube. Being an architect, I am very interested in that one. Thank you so much!

        • magsx2 says:

          Hi An Idealist Thinker,
          Here is the link to the animated cave.
          If you ever need a link to a video you see in any blog, all you have to do is click onto the words You Tube at the bottom of the video, and it will take you to the page the video is on. πŸ™‚

          • Oh.. now I feel so foolish! πŸ˜›

            Thanks for the tip. You are one patient person πŸ™‚

          • magsx2 says:

            There is no need at all to feel foolish, you don’t know these things unless somebody tells you. πŸ™‚ Someone a long time ago told me, and I’m passing that on, and no doubt, you will most likely pass it on as well. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

