Abandoned Mini Monkey Saved: Australia (Pictures)

This beautiful little monkey is a common marmoset, and it is a native in certain parts of South America. They are very tiny monkeys, when fully grown the males are around 188 mm or 7.40 inches in height and the female’s height averages around 185 mm or 7.28 inches.

Abandoned Baby Marmoset monkey being hand raised by Ben Britton of Wild Animal Encounters after its mother ran out of milk. Pic: Gregg Porteous
(from The Telegraph picture gallery)

The mother of this monkey run out of milk, so she abandoned her baby. The baby is now being looked after by Western Sydney’s Wild Animal Encounter, which essentially is a mobil zoo. If you have never heard of these before, a mobile zoo goes around shopping centres, and schools, and teaches children about wildlife. The Western Sydney Wild Animal Encounter is the only one in New South Wales (which Sydney is the capitol) that are allowed to do this. As you can imagine the rules and regulations are very strict.

Abandoned Baby Marmoset monkey being hand raised by Ben Britton of Wild Animal Encounters after its mother ran out of milk. Pic: Gregg Porteous
(from The Telegraph picture gallery)

The baby is a female, and she has not been named as yet. I’m sure she will be a big hit with everyone that meets her.

  • There is a small article about the monkey in The Telegraph.
  • There are some wonderful pictures in The Telegraph picture gallery that I’m sure you will enjoy.

You may also enjoy these other monkey posts from my blog.

This entry was posted in Animals, Australia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Abandoned Mini Monkey Saved: Australia (Pictures)

  1. wolke205 says:

    Awww *sigh* What a cutie! I think mobile zoo’s are a good thing 🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    Hello magsx2.Thanks to you too for visiting me.Lovely pictures!!

  3. Anyluckypeny says:

    She’s so cute and so tiny! She can fit in your pocket 🙂 I’m glad she’s being taken care! Very sweet story!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Anyluckypeny,
      It’s amazing how tiny she is, these monkeys are the smallest monkeys in the world, oh yes she is being taken care of very well. 😀

  4. Stepping My Way to Bliss says:

    Aww…so, so cute. I can’t believe how small it is.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Stepping My Way to Bliss,
      She is very tiny isn’t she, don’t you just feel like giving her a little hug. 😀
      Thank You very much for taking the time to comment.

  5. tempo says:

    I was friends with the local ranger who ran a wildlife park here. I’ve been able to handle these cute little things many times, theyre actually much smaller than they look. Theres quite a bit of fur there covering a tiny, skinny body but theyre very gentle and after handling them you always want to take them home.

  6. Windsmoke. says:

    Definitely cutie pie :-).

  7. aFrankAngle says:

    Oh how cute. Love the pic in the pocket. Of course given the sheepherding bunny, here’s a singing marmoset.

  8. coolfeline says:

    Oh my goodness …what an adorable creature!

    The idea with the mobile zoo sounds great..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi coolfeline,
      Yes the mobile zoo is a great way to introduce animals to children that otherwise many may never get a chance to see. Some people just can’t afford to go to a zoo, or a wildlife park. I have often seen animals inside some major shopping centers at school holiday time, and all the kids love being able to get up close and personal so to speak. They even have snakes, behind glass of course, but always signs explaining what each animal is, and where they live extra.

  9. Oh my goodness, how precious!

  10. elcampeador says:

    How could one not want to take this lovely little creature, home..

  11. I can’t get over how tiny she is – sweet little thing!

  12. BoJo Photo says:

    Beyond amazing and so cute!

  13. You know that I’ve featured monkeys in my posts before, but this one takes the cake as the most adorable.

  14. Selma says:

    Oh she is the dearest little thing. Thank goodness she was found and is being reared so well. I cannot believe how sweet she is. This is such a feelgood story. It has made my day. Thanks, Mags!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      I’m glad it’s made your day, I agree it is a lovely story, things like this once in awhile on the front page of newspapers would be nice I feel. 😀

  15. E.C. says:

    She’s adorable. I love tiny critters. She so enchanting. 🙂

  16. zannyro says:

    SO BEAUTIFUL!!, I love the story of the monkey. I actually drove the a zoomobile for our zoo and took different animals to visit schools. Taking “Alice” the boa
    constrictor was my favorite to teach the kids about! You brought back memories, Thank You!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi zannyro,
      I think that would be fantastic to be able to do things like that. I have seen the look on kids faces at shopping centers etc, and you can see the wonder in their eyes, truly magicial. 🙂

  17. Elyse says:

    Wonderful. Pulling those heart-strings — but I enjoyed every singe tug. Thanks!

  18. Barb says:

    What a sweetie. I love mobile everything: zoos, bloodmobiles, libraries and food carts.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      Yes their tail is very unique, very much like a possums tail more than a monkey, and they also have claws, which the average monkey does not have. 🙂

  19. jmgoyder says:

    Amazing – I’ve never seen anything like it!

  20. souldipper says:

    Thank goodness for the rescue. That certainly puts my soul at rest! Thanks, Mags.

  21. malc50 says:

    Hi Mags, My wife says she’ll have one!

  22. El Guapo says:

    Wonderful that you have an organization that does the work and the education, and travels so everyone can learn too.
    And yeah, the monkey is adorable.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi El Guapo,
      It is a fantastic idea. There are also a lot of city kids that just don’t know about a lot of animals as well.
      She certainly is adorable. 😀

  23. starlaschat says:

    So small what a cute little monkey! I like the picture peeking out of the pocket.

  24. barb19 says:

    She is absolutely gorgeous!

  25. dearrosie says:

    I wonder why the mother would’ve run out of milk???
    Wild Animal Encounters sounds like a wonderful organization. I can’t imagine hand feeding a little creature like that.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      I don’t know why the Mum run out of milk, it didn’t say in the paper.
      They are a fantastic organization, they do a lot for the animals. Yes she is so tiny, it certainly would take a very gentle touch to feed her.

  26. Indira says:

    Reblogged this on बंजारा and commented:
    I think everyone will fall in love with this little cute monkey. Superb post by Magsx2’s,awesome.

  27. BunnyBoo says:

    AWWW!!! 8D
    SO CUTE!!!!!!!
    THIS is ADORABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    if someone doesn’t’t think this is cute they are out of their minds!

  28. BunnyBoo says:

    No one knows what cute, adorable or beautiful is until they see this!

  29. Apart from the abandoned part, there is absolutely everything to love about this post! What a cutie!

  30. mefinx says:

    I suggest they call her Kylie, after another petite, photogenic Aussie survivor.

  31. CwithNuEyes says:

    That is soooo adorable!

  32. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    cute beyond words
    and a blessing to be found
    she will enrich the lives that
    cross hers won’t she….
    Thank you for sharing such a beautful story
    of being lost and found…
    ( I have hand fed so many ferrel kittens that their moms
    have no more milk….they are starting to even come closer to make sure I am
    feeding the right LOLs)
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

  33. Pingback: My Blog Review for 2012 from WordPress | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

