World Record: Oldest Salsa Dancer (Video)

Sarah”Paddy”Jones won the World Record for being the oldest female acrobatic salsa dancer on the 4th March 2010. Sarah”Paddy”Jones was born in Stourbridge England on the 1st of July 1935. Sarah was 75 when she won the record.

When Sarah married, she moved to Spain, and after the death of her Husband in March 2003 she decided to take Salsa classes, and with her dance partner Nicolas Espinosa (40 years younger) they entered the Spanish Talent show Tu Si Que Vales they reached the final 8 out of 20 acts, on the 2nd of December 2009.
The couple also competed in Bailando 2010 in Argentina; they made it to round 11.

The 1st video below is Sarah and Nicolas dancing, the start is slow but stay with it as they do dance the Salsa.
The 2nd video is an interview with Sarah”Paddy”Jones.

World Record
There is a very nice article about Sarah in the Express and Star, the article was written in November 2010.
I had to replace the original video I had on here as it was blocked in the US. If this one is also blocked in your country, please let me know.

Other related posts from my blog:

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to World Record: Oldest Salsa Dancer (Video)

  1. I just took a salsa dance class Tuesday evening. It was fun!

  2. I’m so impressed — she just blew my socks off with her energy!

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    As a ballroom guy, I’ve done some salsa … I can say that I don’t know a lot and that I’m only “fair” at best. I recall seeing other stories about this lady. I’m impressed. Salsa is a fast dance and she given her age, she is doing great. Most importantly, she simply loves to dance – and that means a lot. Good find Mags!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aFrankAngle,
      Oh yes you can tell she loves to dance, she throughly enjoyes her self, which is great, and it is also keeping her fit as well. 😀

      • aFrankAngle says:

        Of course during one of the lift spins, I was wondering if she would crash into the mirror.

        FYI – for whatever reason, YouTube says the first video is blocked here in the US.

        • magsx2 says:

          Oh I am really disappointed the first one is blocked in the US. It played beautifully for me here in OZ. 😀
          Let me know if you can see this or is this one blocked as well.

          • aFrankAngle says:

            Able to see .. love it! Thanks.That’s a 4-minute routine, (which is long!) FYI: Most of those moves are lead-and-follow … as opposed to choreograph.

  4. Windsmoke. says:

    I hope to be that fit at her age. Wonder why the first video was blocked in the US as Frank Angle said in his comment because that’s really sad indeed :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      I also hope I’m that fit as well.
      Yes it is a shame it is blocked in the US, it is a pity they don’t tell you that before you embed the video. 😦

    • aFrankAngle says:

      I recall it saying something about copyright … oh well.

      • magsx2 says:

        Yes I couldn’t see any of that because it played fine for me. I have come across video that I couldn’t see, but most others could. They should tell you on YouTube itself under embedding that this video is banned in some countries, it certainly would make life easier.. 😀
        I swapped the videos over so hopefully everyone can now watch Sarah dance.

  5. The first video was blocked for me, too. But I enjoyed the second one! What an inspiration and a bundle of energy the lady is! Staying active is so important the older we get and she discovered a great way to do that…

  6. elcampeador says:

    WOW! Just WOW! Bless your heart Sarah. You go girl. BTW, GREAT LEGS. 🙂

  7. I want to be THAT fit at 75. How fab! You find the best stuff! Perfect Friday post, Mags.

  8. Look at her move! I want to dance like her when I am old 🙂

  9. I meant to say older* 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Any Lucky Penny,
      She sure can move, and she dancers so well for her age, getting into the World Record books must of really given her a boost as well. 😀

  10. Jimmy says:

    Oh that they had a similar record for worst salsa dancer…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Jimmy,
      What do you mean a similiar record for worst salsa dancer?
      She made it into the World Record books for being the oldest female acrobatic salsa dancer a the age of 75.

      • Jimmy says:

        Oh! That wasn’t snarky. I was referring to myself. I took no less than six semester length salsa classes and am still terrible.

        I have no rhythm. The woman in the videos here, is quite amazing.

        • magsx2 says:

          A communication breakdown there I feel. 😀
          I never gave Salsa a go, it certainly doesn’t look easy at all, but good on you for giving it a go. 🙂

  11. Cafe23 says:

    Omg she is so adorable!! I love watching stuff like this ‘cuz it makes me feel like I can do anything. If they can do it, I can do it!!!
    Thanks for the inspiration, Mags 🙂

  12. dearrosie says:

    What an inspiring post Mags. Thank you. And thank you for finding the video we can watch in North America.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      I couldn’t believe that it was blocked in some countries, as I could see it fine, but I’m glad I found one that everybody could watch. It’s ridiculous when you think about it, they should just not allow embedding altogether on videos like that.

  13. travelrat says:

    Only the other day, I was watching Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean in ‘Dancing on Ice’ and they’re both well into their fifties … I wonder if they’ll still be doing it when they’re in their 70s? Don’t see why not … the oldest contestant so far has been Rosemary Conley, demostating an agility and grace I once wouldn’t have thought possible at her age.

    (I can still do a pretty mean ‘Twist’ myself! :D)

  14. malc50 says:

    Thanks for sharing that Mags. I wish I could dance half as well. If I found a magic lamp and had three wishes, two of them would be to be able to dance as well as Gene Kelly and to sing as well as Howard Keel. Havagoodweekend. (I’m looking forward to tomorrow morning’s weekend jokes). Best wishes, Mal. {How did you take Davy Jones’ passing at only 66 years of age? My wife and other women of her vintage were heart-broken.}

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      I love dancing as well, of course I can’t dance like Sarah, but would certainly like too. 😀
      It was very sad news indeed when Davey Jones passed away, like your wife I was heart broken. He was a very popular poster to have in ones bedroom back in the day. I didn’t know of any girls back then that didn’t think he was the best looking guy in the world at the time.

  15. Thank you for this post!!! It’s so inspiring. I love to dance so watching this beautiful woman with all her energy and moves gives me hope that I can continue on. I think, it’s pretty obvious, that her love of dancing has kept her young and healthy. Thanks, I needed that!
    Lisa

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lisa,
      She certainly is inspiring, she has all the right moves. I wish I could dance like that now, but to be able to dance that way at 75 is just amazing. 🙂

  16. starlaschat says:

    You should have heard me scream towards the end of the video. :+) WOW She really can move. That’s impressive. I like the idea she said “she was over the moon” isn’t that wonderful to do what makes you feel over the moon about. I’m still amazed, I wish I could dance that.

  17. wolke205 says:

    She s an amazing lady! 😀 I can’t watch the first vid, but the second and I ve seen her on TV here couple of months ago. Salsa is a good way to get in shape – it s my fav Zumba lesson 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi wolke205,
      I’m sorry you couldn’t see the first video, I had changed it from the original one I had there because of the same thing. Thank goodness you could still watch the 2nd one.
      Zumba is a lot of fun, I have a couple of friends that do Zumba. 🙂

  18. Fergiemoto says:

    Wow, that’s fantastic! What energy! I hope I’m moving that well when I’m her age…except I won’t be doing any of those upside-down moves. I won’t even do them now!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Fergiemoto,
      I don’t think I could those fancy upside moves either, in fact I have never done them. 😀
      She is fantastic isn’t she, she makes it all look so easy. 🙂

  19. That lady is unbelievable , she is so good and I think her secret is in the fact that she finds the dance fun and truly enjoyable .
    A pleasure to see and a lesson in how to enjoy life
    Aussie Ian

  20. souldipper says:

    Imagine that, Mags! We have tons of life to look forward to – obviously!

  21. amazing….love to dance…maybe this is my next goal to retrieve what I have lost…thanks for an inspiring video

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi purpleborough,
      Yes I agree dancing is fun. I think the video does prove that you are never too old to learn to do whatever you would like. 🙂

  22. You have to have absolute confidence in your partner, and not all partners, however good they are as dancers, inspire such confidence. At that age, though, there could be a risk with bones. It was a bit like looking at a dangerous circus act and praying that she didn’t fall. I was so relieved when she managed to avoid that mirror. Her partner was a bit careless there. A wonderful lady.

  23. Masha says:

    Hello Mags,
    I am trying to find Sarah Paddy’s contact info. Would you be able to help or recommend a way to go about it? I’ve searched all over the net, yet no links nor web site found. Any advice would be extremely appreciated.

Leave a Reply

