Japan’s 2011 Tsunami From Car Video (Amazing Footage)

A car in Japan has a dashboard camera going, just as the tsunami comes sweeping inland.
You see the earthquake tremors, as the trees and road signs wobble.
A passerby steadies himself on the shifting sidewalk, and then the tremors cease.
The driver continues on, and ahead of you, as you look through the front windshield, in comes the whole unbelievable ocean.
Soon, the car is bobbing like a cork. You are inside this car as the tsunami takes it.

Sorry the video is not in English, but I’m sure you will understand what is happening. Make sure you watch this in full screen.

This amazing video link and information was kindly sent to me from Malc 50. Thank You again Mal for the link.


Other related posts from my blog:

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Japan’s 2011 Tsunami From Car Video (Amazing Footage)

  1. I could not click the like button because there is nothing to like about this video. It is frightening to think how many people died that day or were lost.

  2. El Guapo says:

    Every piece of footage of this I see is more astounding than the one before.
    Hope I never go through something like that…

  3. wolke205 says:

    My prayers & thoughts still go out to the people (and animals) there…

  4. lolabees says:

    Wow, Mags, that is some crazy footage. It’s amazing to think how life can drastically change in an instant.

  5. Binky says:

    Very eerie, especially the way the water comes up n them so fast.

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    Good find Mags as it serves as a reminder to the many who have forgotten about the current struggles that the tragic day initiated.

  7. What a dreadful experience… It certainly helps us to get a sense what it must have felt like to be swept along by the tsunami… The ones who lived through this will never forget the horror of it.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      It’s unreal, it’s like you are actually sitting in the car, while all this is happening around you and you just can’t do anything about it.
      I agree, this is something that those that lived through the horror will never forget.

  8. In the blink of an eye — astounding!

  9. Do you know if the driver stayed in the car? Also, wondering how the footage remained intact — didn’t get destroyed.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Travel Spirit,
      Unfortunately I don’t know, I was wondering the same thing, how the footage managed to stay intact, when was the footage found etc. There is no information at all on YouTube about the footage, but it is intriguing.

  10. Windsmoke. says:

    Certainly is scary :-).

  11. coolfeline says:

    all of the above … and another reminder of how quickly life changes.

  12. I kept wondering what I would do if I were caught in such a horror. I guess the answer is that anyone caught in it had no options to do anything. Horrifying!

    Ronnie

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Ronnie,
      There didn’t seem to be any time at all to even think about what you might be able to do to get of it. Horrifying is right.

  13. elcampeador says:

    Horrific! Just. Plain. Horrific.

  14. ~mimo~ says:

    wow, frightening!

  15. barb19 says:

    In an instant, everything changed for those poor people; so sad.

  16. jmgoyder says:

    The voice in the background is a weirdly calm contrast to the chaos of the video – bloody hell!

  17. I remember watching it live on CNN when they had breaking news of the tsunami. I got goosebumps when I saw the images of the water, it wouldn’t stop it just kept on coming. It felt so strange because I only see these type of things in movies and to actually see that it was really happening was so sad 😦

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Any Lucky Penny,
      I also remember seeing some of the footage that first started coming out of Japan, I just couldn’t believe what these poor people were going through, such devastation.

  18. zannyro says:

    As I type this, I’m not sure if I’m breathing. So, So,Sad. There really are no words

  19. Selma says:

    It’s is absolutely terrifying, Mags. I actually feel a bit sick watching it because we all know what happened afterwards. I wonder if the people in the car survived. I suppose they must have if the video survived. So scary….

  20. tempo says:

    I saw this one at the time but had to watch it again, incredible footage..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi tempo,
      I hadn’t seen this one at all, until Mal sent it to me, I was really amazed, I just couldn’t imagine what it would of been like sitting in that car and knowing there is absolutely nothing that you could do.

  21. bingbing says:

    What really gets me in this and other footage I’ve seen (but not every take) is how deceptively serene it all looks.

    The illusion of calm as the little “toy” cars bob about, and yet this force of nature, which to me looks far more benign than an Aussie bushfire or bombs going off, is in fact, far more deadly and devastating.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bingbing,
      That is so true. Even more so in this video I think, as you can imagine yourself behind the wheel of the car, and you are just going about your business when all of a sudden your wold changes, no warning at all.

      • bingbing says:

        I played one of your other linked videos, too, and to see whole houses bobbing about like rubber duckies in a bathtub, and people running.

        It’s just surreal. I’m not sure the average human brain is wired to process such information properly.

        • magsx2 says:

          The force of the water that hit was just amazing, everything in its path was like cardboard, nothing was going to stop it.

          • bingbing says:

            Nope. Nothing. And to think we usually experience water as gentle raindrops on our head, a nice warm shower, a soak in the tub, a cool drink, waves gently lapping at the shoreline, a bit of fun in the surf…

            We try but sometimes nature simply will not be controlled, and occasionally reminds us who’s boss.

  22. bingbing says:

    I dunno. Perhaps because of the high profile Japan has, the nuclear power plant going down, and all the video footage, we remember the Fukushima disaster quite vividly.

    And I’m not saying anyone’s forgotten, but the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami was arguably even worse, yet it doesn’t (and didn’t) seem to receive the same amount of attention.

    230,000 died that day. I can’t even comprehend that.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bingbing,
      The earthquake and Tsunami that hit in 2004 in the Indian Ocean was indeed huge, it even moved the whole planet 1 centimeter or 0.4 inches according to Wikipedia. There was a lot of TV coverage at the time, I remember just about every station was showing some awful footage of what people went through especially in Indonesia.
      A very good article about the Indian Ocean incident in Wikipedia.

      • bingbing says:

        I know there was a lot of coverage, Howard’s immediate $1bil in aid, the follow-on stories about the tsunami warning system… and maybe it’s my blogging brain being a victim of the relentless 24hr news cycle, but the Japanese one still seems to have received more coverage in my mind.

        Also, I’d link to a certain comic strip but today, this thread, it doesn’t seem appropriate even though it’s on topic… remind me on a lighter post.

  23. Unbelievable , yet a must see to understand the ferocity and changing world we live in.
    Technology has now bought us to a world where we can actually record catastrophes
    and disasters in real life and have them distributed throughout the whole world in minutes
    Aussie Ian aka Aussie Emu

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aussieian,
      You would never dream years ago what we can see today. If someone had told me that I would experience what an earthquake and tsunami would be like from inside a car, that got caught in the middle of it all, I would of laughed at such a possibility. It truly is amazing.

  24. This is amazing. To watch in real time and see how quickly the water ravaged the entire area is just unbelievable. Thanks for sharing this.

  25. Tony McGurk says:

    I cannot begin to imagine how terrifying it must’ve been for all those poor people. The loss of lives was just so tragic. Such a terrible disaster.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Tony,
      Even watching it all unfold on TV was terrible enough, we can only imagine how horrifying it must of been to be in the thick of it.

  26. zannyro says:

    And now it’s many hours after I first watched this and it haunts me…..thanks for making it so real..I need to find a way to help..even now I know they need help.

  27. Stepping My Way to Bliss says:

    Wow. Horrific and incredibly sad. It is amazing that something this devastating can even be cleaned up…or that “life goes on”. I am going to check out the above link to see the before and afters.

  28. How terrifying! I don’t remember the 2004 one very well; my mother died on Christmas Day that year, so I was in a bit of a daze. I remember the aftermath a bit better. With all the survival stories, as well as the deaths. But mostly only stories of Aussies. Do journalists think that we can’t relate to other peoples’ tragedies?

  29. bingbing says:

    Hi Mags. Found this photo essay today. Thought you and everyone might find it interesting.

    http://lightbox.time.com/2012/03/06/japan-one-year-later-photographs-by-james-nachtwey/#1

  30. Golfmadchick says:

    Amazing, terrifying, tragic.

  31. Fergiemoto says:

    …Terrifying!…!

Leave a Reply

