Flying Robots Play James Bond Theme (Fun Video)

From You Tube:
Flying robot quadrotors perform the James Bond Theme by playing various instruments including the keyboard, drums and maracas, a cymbal, and the debut of an adapted guitar built from a couch frame. The quadrotors play this “couch guitar” by flying over guitar strings stretched across a couch frame; plucking the strings with a stiff wire attached to the base of the quadrotor. A special microphone attached to the frame records the notes made by the “couch guitar”.

Video via Tim Blair from The Telegraph.

Experiments performed with a team of nano quadrotors at the GRASP Lab, University of Pennsylvania. Vehicles developed by KMel Robotics. Special thanks to Professor Daniel Lee for his support.

Main web site for Quadrotors

This entry was posted in Fun, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Flying Robots Play James Bond Theme (Fun Video)

  1. zannyro says:

    My mouth is literally hanging open!

  2. I’m impressed – that’s pretty darned slick!

  3. This is BRILLIANT! One of your best yet. πŸ™‚

  4. gitwizard says:

    Amazing! Thanks for including the University of Pennsylvania link for the geeks amongst us.

  5. Windsmoke. says:

    The Quadrotors look like something Q would have invented just for a James Bond and wouldn’t look out of place either :-).

  6. Those quadrotors sound like a swarm of mosquitoes! Amazing technology…

  7. Rebekah says:

    LOL what a jaw-dropper! They really play well too!!! πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      I thought it was excellent, I would of liked to have heard the whole song played through, but we can’t always have what we want. πŸ˜†

  8. El Guapo says:

    That is incredibly cool, and I will be very impressed by those little robots.
    Until they start to take over the world. πŸ˜‰

  9. BoJo Photo says:

    That is mind blowing! πŸ™‚ Smoogs!!! Amazing that you can so many small objects to work in unison.

  10. Selma says:

    I love stuff like this so much. Just fantastic. I take my hat off to the creators of them. Love John Phillips comment. LOL.

  11. Lenore Diane says:

    Too cool for school!!

  12. E.C. says:

    I want one or two or three. lol Awesome & amazing. They’re like trained big old mosquitoes. You find the coolest videos and info. πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi E.C.
      They are like trained mosquitoes, and I agree they would be a ton of laughs to have a few flying around the home, just think they could get the remote for you, find your keys, the possibilities are endless. πŸ˜€

  13. Those were cool videos! Just imagine all the good stuff they could do with these!

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    Very interesting … better yet … it brought a smile to my morning.

  15. Mags: Off-topic and I apologize, but someone sent me this cool link and awesome dolphin video that I thought was right up the Magsx2 blog.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      Oh yes very much so, I would love to put this in my blog if it is alright with you, I will certainly link back to your blog as credit to the find. Are you sure you don’t want to put into your blog?

      • No Mags, this is for you. I thought of you the SECOND I saw it. By all means, use it. We’re hopping a plane for Buenos Aires in a couple of hours!! Good-bye Brazil. Hello Argentina.

        • magsx2 says:

          Thank You very much. πŸ˜€
          I really wish I was on that holiday with you, such fantastic photos you have posted already, I will be looking forward to seeing Argentina as well. Enjoy. πŸ˜€

  16. starlaschat says:

    I wonder how long it took to get these little guys to play that tune so perfectly? Just one little robot going left instead of right. :+) There so small.

  17. Eric Murtaugh says:

    This is so cool! Thanks for sharing!

  18. Hi Mags! That’s great! It looks like the news is spreading fast πŸ™‚ I’m letting all my friends know about it too. I was watching the Today Show this morning and they were talking about it too!

  19. I don’t think that they are going to replace long-haired musicians, but someone will surely find a way for the technology to be used as lethal weapons.

  20. Tony McGurk says:

    Fascinating little critters. Have you read Michael Crichton’s novel Prey. That 2nd video reminded me of that.

  21. I clicked liked not knowing what I liked because my Adobe Flash Plugin keeps crashing….I have spent an hour trying to fix the problem.

    My son’s team, Team FREDNET, builds robots πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

