Ghost Haunting Supermarket? Australia (Video)

It seems we have a ghost haunting one of our IGA stores in Bromton, Adelaide, South Australia. Apparently around 11.30 pm one night a box went flying out of the shelves. No sign of a break-in, no alarms went off; it just seemed to have flung itself into the middle of the isle, 6 meters from where they were supposed to be in a different isle. 😯

So who do you call?

No not Ghostbusters in this part of OZ, the Adelaide Paranormal Detectives were put on the case, yes indeed, and they took their instruments with them to IGA and started investigating. Well they discovered that there seemed to be a drop in temp late at night, and they think they may have got something on their voice box recorder. 😯
Oh yes it is all on now, if I was that ghost I would be plenty scared.

My conclusion:
The ghost was very hungry and just couldn’t get the food packet open, it is the only logical explanation.

An article is the newspaper Adelaide Now, which has a fantastic video of the Paranormal Detectives hard at work, is well worth the watch.

The video below is from one of our breakfast shows here in Australia called Sunrise, it is not as good as the video in the paper, it doesn’t show the Investigators doing their thing, but it does show the footage from the supermarket.

Other posts from my blog you may like:

This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Ghost Haunting Supermarket? Australia (Video)

  1. Linda Vernon says:

    I’m laughing! The guy who was gunned down in the phone booth outside the store is taking his revenge by tossing a roll-up into the isle at 11:30 at night after the store it closed. He’s the politest of ghosts!! So funny! πŸ™‚

  2. Two years ago we had “WIPS” (Wisconsin-Illinois Paranormal Society) come to HolEssence to do a presentation followed by a question and answer session. It was fascinating! Generally speaking (although there are exceptions to the rule), ghosts are mean and nasty. In fact, they’re very friendly. In the case of the man who was gunned down near the store, he’s probably not remotely interested in “revenge.” Rather, he just wants people to know here’s there.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Laurie,
      That would of been a very interesting presentation to go too, especially with question and answers being allowed as well.
      You may be right about the guy from the phone booth.

  3. Lol! I’m glad we live in a world where this is a top news story! haha! Seriously, it is sort of weird, unless the store owner was desperate for publicity and rigged a string to make the roll-ups fall from the shelf? I’m trying to imagine if I were a ghost what food I’d be craving? hmmm?
    Very funny!

    • And for the record, I do actually believe in ghosts. I thought maybe my first response made me sound like a cynic. Thought I’d better clear that up. : )

      • magsx2 says:

        Hi A Gripping Life,
        Your response didn’t sound cynical at all, we can still see the funny side regardless of beliefs. πŸ™‚
        Well apparently there were 2 different packets thrown on the floor, so it is obvious to me that the ghost was either angry or hungry and couldn’t open the stubborn packets. πŸ˜€

  4. I knew there was a reason I didn’t watch breakfast television!!! πŸ™‚

  5. It makes one wonder… For years a picture of Tim’s great-grand-uncle sat undisturbed on the fireplace mantel of his grandparents’ house, which they had inherited from him, and then his aunt inherited it from them. But a few years ago it was decided that none of us could afford to help with the upkeep and the taxes any longer so the house was put on the market. Every time we went up there after the decision was made we found the picture of the uncle lying face up on the floor. (If it had fallen off of the mantel it would have landed face down.) Each time it was put back it would be found on the floor when we returned. Nothing else on the mantel had fallen. We think the great-grand-uncle objected to having his house sold! Finally Tim’s aunt took the picture home with her and as far as I know nothing else has happened with it. Perhaps he just wanted to make sure we didn’t leave his picture behind!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I think it sounds more like he didn’t want to be left behind and forgotten, at least if his picture is hanging in the home he will always be remembered.

    • dearrosie says:

      That’s an incredible story Barbara. It must’ve been creepy going back into the house and finding the picture carefully placed face up and as you didn’t mention it, I assume it “fell” without the glass breaking!
      Poor guy wanted to make sure his photo didnt end up in the trash…

      • Rosie, I should have mentioned that the picture was an oil painting, a self-portrait, so it had no glass covering it. The great-grand-uncle was a Provincetown artist. I miss staying at his house – some of the happiest moments of my life were spent there…

  6. Windsmoke. says:

    I reckon it was vibrations from passing traffic that caused this item to slip off the shelf. I do believe ghosts are out there but i’ve never seen one up close and personal :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      It couldn’t of been passing traffic, the item was in isle 6 and landed in isle 8, some 6 meters away, so there was certainly some force behind it. πŸ™‚
      I have never seen one up close and personal either. πŸ˜€

  7. Now there’s one career I never considered: a paranormal police person. How can I apply?

    Ronnie

  8. lolabees says:

    I tend to be a believer, but the woman has a point when she mentions this is good advertising for the store. If that’s the case, I guess we’re all suckers anyway because it worked πŸ˜‰

  9. susielindau says:

    That is so crazy that they have a video of the the candy being flung. Crazy. I totally believe it. Love the Ghost Busters flash back! Too funny!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi susielindau,
      The wonders of having camera’s inside these days. πŸ˜€
      I am so a Ghostbuster fan, I enjoyed the movies and love the song. πŸ˜€

  10. In the southern US we often sell tickets to catch glimpses of our ghosts. We call them ‘ghost tours’ and weave tales of rejected lovers and youth squashed by misadventure. Apparently, it’s lucrative. They are loads of fun, whether or not the spirits reveal themselves. But they haven’t groceries at anyone yet. I’d buy a ticket to that show!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi writingfeeamail,
      We also have Ghost Tours here in OZ as well, I have never been on one, but I am told they are rather good. I think there is a Ghost Tour in most of our cities around OZ. Oh yes I would also pay extra to see packets of food being flung around. πŸ˜€

  11. ~mimo~ says:

    hilarious story!

  12. This is a lot of fun. πŸ™‚ I’m laughing at everyone’s comments!

  13. Barb says:

    This always brings out the fun and the serious in everyone. Our fair town just had a Ghost Haunting conventions because it has a lot of history, shanghai activities, and maneuvering tor territory when this side of the continent first opened to settlers. We too have Ghost Tours. They’re more educational than creepy, but lots of fun, especially if they end in a bar. Fun post.

    • Barb says:

      No…I wasn’t in a bar when I typed the above statement…but it looks like it. Blame it on my keyboard ghost.

      • magsx2 says:

        Hi Barb,
        I have never been on one of our Ghost Tours here, I think they are run 3 times a week, but I also heard they are a lot of fun, I know it would be something I would really enjoy, and no doubt meet some interesting people as well. πŸ˜€
        Keyboard ghosts, now I know what happens to my typing sometimes after I hit the publish button, these ghosts seem to be everywhere. πŸ™‚

  14. Lenore Diane says:

    You know, I would love to find out there are ghosts. I don’t know if I truly believe – but I want it to be true. The folks from Sunrise resemble the folks here on the Today Show. Funny.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lenore,
      We will never know for sure, but in the big scheme of things it would not change the fact that we would still get scared either way. πŸ˜€

  15. tempo says:

    I’m a skeptic…I probably wouldn’t believe it even if I saw it happen.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi tempo,
      I always try to keep an open mind about these things. It has never been proved one way or the other, so I stand in the middle. πŸ˜€
      But I must say that their certainly has been a lot of unexplained things happen in the world, but I love a mystery. πŸ™‚

  16. aFrankAngle says:

    What a hoot! Cheers to your conclusion!!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi aFrankAngle,
      I’m glad you liked my conclusion, I thought it was very logical, you know some of those packets can be very hard to open. πŸ˜†

  17. El Guapo says:

    Yes, ok, that’s a little weird…

  18. starlaschat says:

    I’m glad they had a camera and could see it on tape. I think why not If I were a ghost I would probably hand out at an IGA in the donuts and candy isle maybe I would get into the icecream. Funny story I haven’t seen ghost busters movie in a long time. It would probably seem like watching a new movie it’s been so long. Catchy music.:+)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi starlaschat,
      Oh yes, candy and ice-cream is a much better option, that would of been what I would of went for. πŸ˜€
      I enjoyed all the Ghostbusters movies, they were all fun to watch and I totally agree the Ghostbusters theme song is brilliant. πŸ™‚

  19. Woah! It just kept falling back down. I guess even ghosts get a little hungry πŸ˜‰

  20. E.C. says:

    That’s so curious. The universe certainly is a mysterious place sometimes. πŸ™‚

  21. Rebekah says:

    I loved this ghost post, Mags … reading all the comments was also a delight πŸ™‚

  22. Lynn says:

    Very funny indeed!! I mean the first video…It reminds me of some boys..hmmm,let me think..:)
    I do believe in ghosts.I had some experiences in UK long time ago and also at my mum’s house.But I don’t feel scared about this things.When happens in public places I am a little skeptical about it .

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lynn,
      Being skeptical about the public ghosts is a very healthy way of looking at it, you just never know if it is for publicity or the real thing, it’s the mystery that makes it so interesting I think. πŸ™‚

  23. Pingback: Weird Wednesdays (new day, still weird) « Elle's Musings

  24. Tony McGurk says:

    For goodness sakes people make such a fuss over an obvious natural phenomena. It was simply a freak weather pattern. There was a high pressure system in aisle 5 & a low pressure system in aisle 6 hence the pressure difference moved the box. Just like when we get strong wind but this was a more highly localised weather pattern.
    If you need any other scientific mysteries solved don’t be afraid to ask.

  25. Selma says:

    Whether it’s haunted or not it’ll probably be very good for business. I would go there just in hopes of seeing the ghost. OOOOOOOOOHHHHHH 😯

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      Very good for business I assume, free publicity and all that, then again people may only show up at night in the hopes they may hear something going on inside. πŸ˜€

  26. Looks like something that should be on my blog. My cousin, who was a nurse, used to tell stories about haunted hospital wards. One of them was a bit like this one, except that everything in the cupboards of one room started flying off the shelves after the cupboard doors all suddenly swung open one night. The nurse on duty in the ward pressed all the emergency buttons and doctors and nurses arrived from everywhere to find her huddled in a corner of the room with her arms over her head and stuff flying around her. She was hysterical and had to be sedated. They thought at first that it might have been an earth tremor but this duty nurse’s room was the only place where anything out of the ordinary had happened that night.

  27. Definitely believe in ghosts…my houses have all been haunted! Fun post. Thank you and the comments were great!

Leave a Reply

