Easter Egg Tree: Germany (Video)

Volker Kraft decorating a tree with 10,000 Easter eggs in his garden in the ancient town of Saalfeld in Germany.  The Kraft family have decorated their tree with Easter eggs since 1965. Each year the Easter Egg tree gets more eggs added, but now they have run out of room for storing their eggs, so it seems this year they may have reached there limit with 10,000.

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Easter Egg Tree: Germany (Video)

  1. I have seen this. How fabulous is he? Love it! 🙂 Happy Easter, Mags

  2. niasunset says:

    WOW! This is great… and so beautiful too… Thank you dear Mags, with my love, nia

  3. Very different and first time I have heard of this great family tradition
    Congratulations to the Kraft family for saharing some beauty and fun at this time of the year
    Aussie Ian aka Emu

  4. tempo says:

    Wow, who’s got a lot of time on his hands then? It’s wonderful when people go the extra mile for no real reason except just to do it…

  5. I’ve also seen this before…but it is amazing! Thanks!

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    And they were handmade to boot …. by the family! Interesting how it eventually turned into a tourist attraction! A very good find for the season!

  7. Most Germans decorate their trees, shrubs and balconies with Easter decorations and eggs. The Kraft family are just one of thousands…albeit somewhat obsessive about it. Not everyone opts for 10,000 eggs, but a couple of hundred is not unusual. What is rather unusual is the fact that they make their Easter eggs rather than buy them in shops. Thanks for sharing – when I move back to Germany, I might pay a visit to Saalfeld to see the tree next year.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi mariathermann,
      I think it would be fabulous to see, it looks fantastic in the video, I can only imagine what it would be like to see it in person. 🙂

  8. Greeting, permit to visit.
    ——————
    10.000 eggs? nice, but I think rather than hung on trees, even better if shared. there are still many children who are starving there in another continent. one egg is precious to them than in hanging on the tree.

  9. starlaschat says:

    I was wantting to send them an egg but I guess they have plenty. Such a great video so beautiful. :+)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi starlaschat,
      Seems they have reached their limit as far as space goes. 😀

      • starlaschat says:

        I can see that I guess that’s what happens when y ou collect things. I have a teapot collection of only 3 but I can imagine if that got out of hand. Where would I put all my teapots I’d have to have a special room for them.

        • magsx2 says:

          Yes I think sooner or later as the collection grew you would definitely need a special room, or a shed of some sort just for the collection. 🙂

          • starlaschat says:

            I saw a spot on TV where a couple had been collecting Cabbage Patch dolls and theylived in a trailor and kept their cabbage patch kids in a giant house. Nite Mags :+)

  10. I can’t even begin to imagine the time-consuming, space gobbling task of of storing 10,000 decorative Easter eggs!

  11. Heart warming. Seems like such a kind family. Nice little hobby when you think about it…
    Thanks for sharing!

  12. El Guapo says:

    Holy cats! That’s dedication!
    Very cool find, Magsx2 – thanks for the share.

  13. travelrat says:

    Eggstraordinary! (Sorry, I couldn’t resist it!)

    Just thinking of all those cakes and scrambled eggs they must have made over the years!

  14. Windsmoke. says:

    Its a very novel idea and time consuming but well worth it :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      I agree, it seems to be making a lot of people smile, just looking at the kids faces in the video, it was well worth the effort. 😀

  15. Wow! I wish I can do this one day! Thanks for sharing Mags!! I hope you had a wonderful Easter!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Any Lucky Penny,
      I also think it would amazing to be able to do something like this, and to think each generation of the family have kept the tradition going. 😀

  16. reb says:

    What a sweet tradition and gorgeous eggs!

  17. That’s really cool! Very creative!

  18. Selma says:

    That is just gorgeous. Really puts you in the Easter spirit. Think he might run out of space soon, though. Truly lovely!

  19. I’m glad I only collect memories as you can never get too many of those! The egg tree is cool though. Maybe he could share some with a neighbor.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi writingfeemail,
      Yes memories are certainly easier to store that is for sure. 😀
      Just think if the neighbors get involved as well, there could be Easter Egg trees all over that part of Germany, now that would be cool. 🙂

  20. Colline says:

    What a beautiful idea! Some magnificent eggs on display.

  21. What a lovely picture the tree makes.

  22. Amazing! I like how his collection grew larger as the tree grew from a sapling to the size it is now. The eggs are very pretty, too – all of them a little different – a feast for the eyes…

  23. So many eggs, so little time…do they take them down every year? and how long does it take to put them up or do they just stay up all year? So many questions.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi purpleborough,
      The eggs get removed and stored every year, they still have eggs that they decorated over 40 years ago. I don’t know how long it takes to hang the eggs up or take them down, but I assume it would be in the months.

Leave a Reply

