Hippopotamus Chases Boat (Video)

Hippopotamuses are among the largest living mammals; only elephants and some rhinoceroses and whales are heavier. Hippo’s can live in the water or on land. Their specific gravity allows them to sink and walk or run along the bottom of a river.

Hippo skull

Hippo skull (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hippos are considered megafauna, but unlike all other African megafauna, hippos have adapted for a semi-aquatic life in freshwater lakes and rivers.

Hippos measure 3.3 to 5.2 meters (11 to 17 ft) long, including a tail of about 56 centimetres (22 in) in length and average about 1.5 meters (5 ft) tall at the shoulder.

Just to lighten things up a bit, I just had to post this one, sound effects are added to the video. 😀

This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

89 Responses to Hippopotamus Chases Boat (Video)

  1. El Guapo says:

    dear god – what would it have done if it caught the boat?
    I would have been scared witless if I were on that boat!

  2. The hippos chasing the boat were actually pretty scary. I understand they can be pretty vicious. You wouldn’t think so by looking at them, they seem kind of docile. The guy laughing made me laugh as well — sort of that nervous laugh. haha!

    I also laughed at the hippo pooping which goes to show that I have the comedy standards of a six year old boy! haha!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi A Gripping Life,
      There have been a number of deaths reported due to hippos, they don’t seem to like being disturbed, yet these river boats are always included in safari’s.

  3. Oh my gosh – you definitely presented two very different pictures:
    (1) down right scary being chased, and when one gave up, another popped up!
    (2) laugh-out-loud hysterical – good heavens!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Laurie,
      I’m certainly glad I wasn’t on the boat. 😯
      I just couldn’t resist posting that one, I actually laughed out loud when I first saw it.

  4. I read that hippos are more dangerous and responsible for more deaths than crocodiles or lions–they are really fierce and territorial. This was really fascinating (and funny.) Thanks, Mags.

  5. susielindau says:

    Thanks for the Monday chuckle! The fart was hippolarious!

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    I’ve always heard that hippos are a tad on the mean side – and obviously not afraid to take on a boat! Now that second video has me laughing with tears!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Frank,
      They certainly are not friendly by any stretch of the imagination.
      You just have to love the sound effects on that one. 😆

  7. I was stunned at how FAST that hippo went to catch up with the boat. He meant business. I had no idea they were that speedy.

    As for the second video, too too too funny. May be worthy of winning some Ripley’s Longest Fart award. You’ve made my day. 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      The speed was incredable, they can certainly move in the water when they want to, scary stuff.

      You can only laugh, and it was facing the right way as well. 😆

  8. OK Mags…I know what you’re doing. Trying to scare me right before my African trip!! Well…it worked! (Not really). But that was amazing…he was sooo fast! I couldn’t listen to the other one (at work)!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Travel Spirit,
      I just thought you should be on your guard if you are going to go up the river to look at hippos, pick a big boat. 🙂
      You definitely cannot listen to the second video at work. 😀

  9. I LOVE IT!!! so amazing:) Love the hippo fart!! right up my alley!!
    Sorry to be absent for awhile:( Had my plate full!! I will be updating shortly and getting back on !!
    Miss ya
    Peggy

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Peggy,
      The sound effects really make that one I think. 😀
      I gathered you were busy when you hadn’t posted on your blog, nice to see you back. 🙂

  10. Barb says:

    Yep, I would’ve been at the front of the boat, trying to climb on top of someone’s shoulders. Great video.

  11. Colline says:

    Enjoyed the “getting to know you” Hippo post – in different ways 🙂

  12. 7 year old nephew says ‘eeeeeeeeeeeeew’ (to the farting hippo)! 🙂

  13. Linda Vernon says:

    I’ve always heard that hippos were very dangerous animals. Now I see it in action. I think I also read recently that they have sonar like dolphins. Anyway they are fascinating yet very strange animals when you think about it. Good post Mags. 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Linda,
      I didn’t know about the sonar, I suppose they would need something like that especially as they do spend a lot of time underwater. I agree they are a strange animal, and they are also very dangerous.

  14. trod1952 says:

    And after watching that found this link… not really related.. but relaxing and soothing.. and I liked the ending.
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ggg3C87UVCY)

  15. Jodi says:

    Wow… Those hippos weren’t playing around! That last one almost made it!

  16. Windsmoke. says:

    Its a well known fact that hippo’s kill or injury more people than any other animal combined in Africa, so the comment made by NAOMI is correct. Laughed big time at the very windy hippo fart, just imagine the pong :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      Yes there have been a few, every now and then you read about it in the paper, not good at all.
      I never gave that a thought, but you are right the smell most likely would be bad. 😀

  17. reb says:

    Wow, they must have been scared! I found it amazing to see how FAST the hippo was in the water. Usually we see them moseying around at a slow pace, but this was really something else.

    Got a good laugh @ the second one 😀

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi reb,
      Spot on, that is exactly how we seem to see them on TV in documentaries just quietly enjoying water, big and awkward looking, then to see how fast they can be is very scary indeed.
      I love the second one, it also at my laughing the first time I saw it. 😀

  18. malc50 says:

    Two great clip, Mags – for different reasons. Thanks for sharing. Cheers.

  19. Interesting. Dangerous critters.

  20. ~mimo~ says:

    great videos! I love hippos 🙂

  21. thefibitz says:

    LMFAO! Fart humor is good humor!

  22. andy1076 says:

    Wow Hippo really wanted to join the party huh!

  23. Elyse says:

    Mags, the first video was interesting cool,. But the hippo fart was priceless. Just priceless. Glad I wasn’t in the line of fire, though!

  24. jmgoyder says:

    Oh that fart – heheheheh!

  25. i have been on a smaller boat and nearer to a hippo than that lol. .hippos are ok if undisturbed. .no loud motorboats and yelling. great videos. 2nd one is hilarious.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi a diamond uncut,
      I think there are cases of people being unlucky, still I don’t think I would get into a boat to view hippos. 🙂
      I’m glad to hear you also had a bit of a laugh. :d

  26. Cool mate , like it
    Aussie Ian

  27. tempo says:

    Them things will kill ya…dead!

  28. I read about how dangerous they can be, too. I can’t believe those guys were laughing. I would have been screaming!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi ariadnesdaughter,
      I think it was more a nervous laugh, than a fun laugh, yes I’m with you, I would of either been screaming or struck numb. 🙂

  29. starlaschat says:

    I was worried for the people in the boat. Glad it ended OK, yes I too have read about how dangerous hippos can be. The last video was funny. I could hear the Mom in the background after the big hippo fart. She said “Ok I think we are done here.” :+) Funny

  30. How irresponsible those guys in the boat were! Every year people get killed by angry hippos, who suddenly dive up and upset boats. Stupid gits!

    Video no. 2 made me laugh – that was the loudest fart on record, was it? I guess the hippo “told” those visitors what it thought of their intrusive ways…GRIN. Great stinky stuff, I bet those kids we hear in the background loved it.

  31. E.C. says:

    That’s amazing. It never occured to me that they could move that fast in water and chase a boat. Amazing… The second video was hilarious and they didn’t even have to add sound effects to make it so.
    Great post it’s interesting and funny. lol 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi E.C.
      Very scary stuff, makes you think twice about having a look at hippos in the natural habitat.
      I just had to post the second one, I couldn’t believe it when I saw it. 😀

  32. Mags, you’ve outdone yourself with this one. Hilarious!

  33. Fergiemoto says:

    I would be freaking out if I were in that boat! And the second one…well…that’s hilarious!

  34. Never heard the term megafauna before – the hippo certainly qualifies. 🙂 That’s one creature I wouldn’t want to disturb or annoy! They’re vegetarians but very territorial. We saw one a few years back at Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park in Florida. They had signs up warning about a zone where it would be inadvisable to stand. We found out why when the hippo started doing his business – his tail went flying around like a propellor and his excrement went flying in every direction! We were astonished!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Oh so you have seen this tail thing in action, I can only imagine, I bet everyone automatically stepped back a bit further. 😀

      • Thought about this a little more today. I think the signs said “Splatter Zone,” or something similar. People were stepping away and screaming – it was about twelve years ago – I wonder if that hippo is still there. 🙂

        • magsx2 says:

          I’m not sure of the live span of a hippo, he maybe gone by now. That is what I had visions of being screaming and stepping away. 😀

  35. Hi Mags! They are cute chubby animals! And the way it moves its tail on the second video! I saw one at the Los Angeles Zoo a few years ago. I saw a little baby one too 🙂

  36. Arindam says:

    Hi Mags! 🙂 🙂
    What a fart! ha! 🙂 🙂 I still can’t stop laughing. May be the longest laugh for this hippo’s longest fart. 🙂
    And the first video was really scary. To be honest after watching this first video, I am sure, I would not laugh out loud if any of these hippo would fart like they usually do. 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Arindam,
      The hippos know how to do that very well don’t they, and all you can do is laugh. 😆

      The first video is very scary and a lot of people have been injured or killed because of a hippo charge in the past.

  37. Selma says:

    I think Spielberg might be considering this for his new movie – ‘Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water….. HIPPO!’ I had no idea hippos were so aggro. They look so cute!

  38. dearrosie says:

    Hi Mags,
    We know how dangerous hippos can be from our travels in the Kruger Park in South Africa – you don’t mess with them or with rhinos! Those guys in the boat were laughing but I wonder whether they knew how very lucky they were that the hippos just “scared” them away. An angry hippo could so easily have knocked their boat over.

Leave a Reply

