Malayan Tapir Born: Belfast Zoo (Video)

The Malayan tapir is a very unique looking animal, with a rather funny but strange little trunk. They grow between 1.8 m to 2.4 m or 6 to 8 feet in length and stand 90 to 107 cm or 3 to 3.5 feet tall. The weight of a tapir is between 250 to 320 kg or 550 to 700 pounds. There are different types of tapirs; the Malayan tapir is the largest of the species.

A Malayan tapir (tapirus indicus) in the Toron...

A Malayan tapir (tapirus indicus) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

They have very poor eyesight, but their sense of smell and their hearing are excellent, and they use these senses rather than rely on eyesight. They carry their young for around 390 days, after which a single offspring is born. The baby looks totally different to the Mother, the coat of the baby is covered with white strips and spots, and this is to resemble the dappled light of the forest and is a protection. When older of course they then have the 2 tone colouring, and when asleep these animals can resemble rocks, which may protect them.
They are unfortunately an endangered species.

Baby Malayan Tapir, one month old, at the Wood...

Baby Malayan Tapir, one month old (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The baby Malayan tapir that was born at Belfast zoo is called Marjorie, and she was born on the 4 March 2012.
Her Mum “Gladys” came to the Belfast Zoo in 1994 from the Toronto zoo, and her Father “Elmer” came from the Mulhouse Zoo in France in 1995.
You can learn more about Marjorie at the Belfast Zoo’s web site.

The Zoo also has free desktop wallpaper of some baby animals including one of the baby tapir if anyone is interested for the kids or themselves. :)

The video below is of a baby tapir born at the Woodland Park Zoo back in 2007, sorry I couldn’t find a video of Marjorie from the Belfast Zoo, but Marjorie is exactly the same as this baby below.

This entry was posted in Animals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Malayan Tapir Born: Belfast Zoo (Video)

  1. We are regular visitors to the Woodland Park Zoo in Seattle, and we love to see the Tapirs there. I was a fun surprise to see our tapirs in your video!

  2. iz1photos says:

    Yes, Tapir (or ‘Tenuk’ as some call it in Malaysia; my home country) is indeed a very unique looking animal.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi iz1photos,
      I think they are gorgeous, there is something about them, even though a rather large animal they always look very gentle. :D

  3. Marjorie, Gladys, and Elmer — I love it!

  4. Lynn says:

    Both are beautiful.

  5. Very beautiful creatures…i always get a lovely lesson from you all the time, which is always plesantly received by my heart! Thanks!

  6. niasunset says:

    Oh dear Mags, they are so lovely, especially the baby tapir. In our zoo I saw them too, but not same colour with these tapirs… Black and white… amazing. Thank you so much, I learned more about them now… With my love, nia

  7. reb says:

    OMG, the cuteness factor on this post was very high! :D Loved the tapirs… it’s a damned shame that they’re endangered..like so many others..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi reb,
      Oh yes definitely a cuteness factor, they are just so unusual the baby’s, so very pretty with the stripes and spots. It is great that there are zoos the world over that are breeding these animals, at least that way the next generation of children will still be able to see them. :)

  8. Gregoryno6 says:

    Is a Malayan tapir born in Belfast still a ‘Malayan’ tapir?

  9. barb19 says:

    They are a strange looking animal, but still cute in their own way,,
    The baby looks strange being born with those markings, but I can see how it would be a protection for it in the wild. Isn’t nature wonderful?
    Great post Mags!

  10. Doraz says:

    :) Beautiful creatures of God for all of us to enjoy and take care of. :) Have fun blogging.

  11. aFrankAngle says:

    Other than being able to identify a tipar, other than that I admit not knowing much. Many thanks for the info. Not sure if our zoo has one, but now I will be on the looking for it.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Frank,
      Not all zoos have them unfortunately, but do keep a look out, they are beautiful animals, strange looking, but they seem very gentle animals.

  12. megtraveling says:

    I really like their coloring! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one before. Thanks for the great post!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi megtraveling,
      There colouring is very unusual in the vast difference from baby to adult, you would not realize they were the same animal. :)

  13. Oh wow it looks like they could not decide on whether they wanted to look like an elephant or pig so chose both :lol:
    what a cute video :) loved it :)
    Wish you a great weekend :)

  14. very cute animals. .love the post.

  15. ~mimo~ says:

    wonderful post! Made me smile

  16. starlaschat says:

    I had to laugh at the start of the video! So cute the way their noses go up in the air. Adorable the marking remind me of some cows here black and a large white stripe.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi starlaschat,
      Yes they do have a funny nose, it is a strange little trunk. Yes we have a lot of those black and white cows here as well. :D

  17. I saw one of those tapirs when I was at the Miami Metro Zoo — it was amazing! There were a couple of them, I think. And at first, I thought half of their bodies were in the shade! Because they were standing among a lot of trees. Then I realized, wow, that is just their natural coloring. Truly something to see.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi happykidshappymom,
      They are truly an amazing looking animal, from the time they are born to when they are adults. The way the colour is on the body is a protection thing, and when laying down, they can resemble a rock.

  18. Linda Vernon says:

    What an interesting animal they are and one which I know next to nothing about. The coloring is fascinating and when asleep they resemble rocks! Now that’s what I call tricky! I wonder if they are related to elephants? They are certainly elephant like. HA! I always learn something new and interesting on your blog Mags!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Linda,
      I don’t know if they are related to an elephant, it is the first animal I think we all associate with because of the small truck on the tapir. They certainly are a very unique animal.

  19. I’ve never seen one of these tapirs before, Mags. The fact that they are black and white reminds me of pandas which are Asian too. I wonder what that means. If anything.

  20. Selma says:

    They are curious looking animals but cute, nonetheless. I love how the baby’s nose keeps twitching. Such a shame they are endangered.

  21. What an unusual, adorable creature! Amazing how the stripes turn into two blocks of color!

  22. Wow I have never ever seen this animal, beautiful. Thank you for sharing and teaching me something new.

  23. Subhan Zein says:

    I learned about this animal when I was in primary school. My teacher told me that they are bred in Sulawesi, an island in my lovely country.

    But I didn’t see any of them when I was there in 2010. I guess a big portion of the population has now gone extinct. :-(

    Subhan Zein

Leave a Reply

