Sidewalk Caved in Under a Pedestrian: China (Video)

This poor girl was just walking along the sidewalk, talking on her phone, and then all of a sudden the sidewalk just caved in underneath her feet. She fell just over 6 meters or 20 feet. Apparently underground water made the ground unstable, and the cement on the sidewalk just gave way.

A guy in a taxi stopped immediately and actually went down the hole to try and help her. This taxi driver is a bit of a hero I think, not too many people would have gone down such a deep dark hole knowing the ground was unstable. The whole incident was caught by a surveillance camera.

Other posts from my blog you may like:

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Sidewalk Caved in Under a Pedestrian: China (Video)

  1. Unbelievable! That cab driver is a hero, and she is lucky she didn’t break both legs.

  2. That’s amazing, heroic! I knew it: there are still heroes in this world! Thank you, Mags for posting! And I am reblogging your great post 😊

  3. Reblogged this on Aina's Blog and commented:
    Magsx2 catch this awesome vid of one great heroic act. See folks? Goodness still exist in this world. Thank you, Mags!

  4. Lynn says:

    I saw it on TV a couple of days ago.Being swallowed by the earth…terrific!! :(

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lynn,
      I didn’t know it had been on TV. It must of been a very frightening experience, I just couldn’t imagine the ground just opening up like that under me.

  5. I was amazed she did not die or get seriously hurt!

  6. Talk about the earth falling out from underneath you!

  7. What are the chances a Sydney cabbie would help out, do you think…?

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    Takes the dangers of talking on a cell phone to another level. ;) … I saw this on the news, but didn’t realize the fall was 20 feet.

  9. Windsmoke. says:

    Lucky their wasn’t a torrent of water flowing underneath the footpath or both would have drowned or swept away never to be found :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      That is so true, they said on the video that the ground was still moving while they were in the hole, both of them was very lucky.

  10. Amazing — the cab driver is unquestionably a HERO!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Laurie,
      He certainly is, it would not of been easy getting down that hole, with a very unstable ground with nothing around you but dirt, very scary.

  11. reb says:

    What struck me first, as I watched her just walking along, talking on the phone, was ‘How little we know!!!” That’s something that noone could foresee in ones wildest imagination.

    Luckily it ended well … what a guy, the taxi driver! Def. Hero!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi reb,
      You wouldn’t even think about it happening, very scary, and it was very lucky it all ended well. I think the cab driver should get some sort of recognition for what he did, just incredible.

  12. El Guapo says:

    Makes me even more nervous aobut the crumbling infrastructure in the US. but really, how do you guard agains that.
    Lucky that the hole didn’t widen during the resuce.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi El Guapo,
      There is just no way of knowing when something like that is going to happen. I couldn’t get over the people all standing around the hole, just unbelievable, what if more of it gave way.

  13. robincoyle says:

    Yikes! Remind me to carry a ladder when I walk on the streets in China.

  14. mj monaghan says:

    Wow, Mags, glad you posted this. I heard about this, but during the move, didn’t have access to tv or internet. Thanks for sharing it. What a hero the driver was!

  15. That cab driver did save her life…at least she didnt have to be alone in that pit,and knowing she had someone must have given her courage and hope…
    God bless the kind man…people like these keep this world going

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Soma,
      She was unconscious when he went down the hole, and was with her when she woke up, and I agree with you it would of been a 100 times worse for her I think if she had of woken up alone with the ground still moving, he kept her calm until help arrived.

  16. travelrat says:

    Wow! If that happened in UK, she could sue the Council bigtime!

    As it happens, I’m just recovering from a sprained thumb, after tripping over a loose paving slab in Coober Pedy. Don’t think I’ll get much joy if I complain about it … but it pales into insignificance beside this.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      I just couldn’t believe what I was seeing when I first saw the video, one minute there and the next gone.

      I am really sorry to hear about your sprain, I hope it isn’t too severe that it will ruin the rest of your holiday.

  17. dearrosie says:

    Good lord as she stepped onto the square of sidewalk it just gave way. If that had happened to an older person they could’ve died from a heart attack. Don’t you wonder why she wasn’t injured? I don’t think she landed in water because her clothes weren’t wet.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      The driver said she was unconscious when he reached her, but she was very lucky. A guess would be the ground was really soft due to the water underneath, the driver also said the ground was moving. It was unexpected as well so her body was not tensed up, that would of made a bit of a difference as well, or she was just very lucky.

      • dearrosie says:

        I didn’t know she was unconscious when the driver reached her. Have you read her account of the story?

        I was also interested to see that they both were wearing crash helmets when pulled out.

        • magsx2 says:

          No, I hadn’t read about it, it was mentioned in another video:
          (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMVn43rDBmc)
          There are so many videos on this, the one I original chose embed was turned off, I try and chose a video that I hope is not going to disappear down the track, so many do unfortunately. :)
          I assume the rescuers sent the helmets down.

  18. The Emu says:

    That guy is a hero beyond all doubt
    Emu

  19. viveka says:

    What a wired accident …. can imaging if it had been an elderly person. That taxi driver is some true hero. Fantastic man. Still a bit worrying see all the people standing on that close to hole – when the ground is so weaken. Happy ending after all. What a brave man that taxi driver.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi viveka,
      I think if it had of been an elderly person that fell things would of turned out a lot differently. The driver seemed to stop immediately, and rushed over, truly a hero. Yes there certainly did seem like a lot of people around the hole, myself I would not of been anywhere near the edge, a dangerous situation.
      Thank You very much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  20. What I found interesting was that all the rescuers/by-standers were standing at the edge of the pit!! Kinda like standing at the edge of a hole on a thinly-ice pond. With so much extra weight in an already soft area, I would think there’d be a great chance that more of the sidewalk would cave in. Don’t you think someone would have asked everyone else to stand back! Lucky ending all around.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      I also was amazed at the amount of people so close to the hole, obviously none of them was thinking clearly, I was actually waiting for more of the sidewalk to give way, truly astonishing that it stayed stable right throughout the rescue. You are right, it is amazing that someone was not attempting to tell all the people to move a lot further back from the hole.

  21. I saw this on the news and couldn’t believe my eyes! The cab driver is definitely a hero – and the girl must have been stunned beyond words. I wonder if she’ll be nervous walking down the street from now on…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,
      I know I would be always looking and wondering if something like that happened to me, I think it would play on your mind a bit.

  22. Over the last few years there have been so many scandals involving shoddy workmanship in buildings and corruption where cheaper or even faulty materials were used to build something. I’d already seen this on the news in the UK – the cab driver was very brave indeed. They both could have been washed away.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi mariathermann,
      I think they just try and do too many things on the cheap, and cut too many corners these days, it is always about money in the end, very sad.

  23. Lenore Diane says:

    Hello Mags. I am glad the taxi driver was in the right place at the right time. It was hard to tell whether or not anyone else noticed. Amazing video.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lenore,
      Oh yes the right person was there alright, it was hard to tell if anyone else actually saw what happened except for that one girl that arrived at the hole with the driver, it was like he was meant to be there at that time.

  24. Wow! She was lucky that she was able to climb back out. She should have had broken legs, or back, or something. Unlucky fall, but it could have been much worse. Easy to see that the cabbie wasn’t a Sydney cabbie! She’d still be waiting!

  25. Wow, Mags, I had to watch this one twice! I am so struck at just how quickly the cab driver came to that girl’s rescue. Boy, what a guy. Not only was he paying attention to things going on around him while driving (instead of texting, which is so deadly), but he just jumped right out and hopped down the hole. What a story of inspiration. Thank you so much for sharing it! You always find the very best stories.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi happykidshappymom,
      The driver didn’t muck around, he even left the cab in the middle of the street, he got to her very quickly, it must of been a shock to see someone disappear like that, it was a shock to me just watching the video. Then for him to go down that hole and do whatever he could was just amazing.

      • I so agree. What an act of human kindness. Truly amazing — I’m going to share your link with my friends. (Oh, and you can call me Melissa, as it’s easier to type!) :)

        • magsx2 says:

          Thank You for sharing the link. :) and Thank You for giving me your name Melissa, I hope I remember it next time you comment. :)

  26. Selma says:

    Absolutely terrifying. It would be the last thing you would expect as you were walking along. Thank goodness the cabbie was there!

  27. Arindam says:

    Hi Mags,
    You shared a story of a really brave person with good intention here. For me people like him are real heroes. Hatf off to this guy. We need lots more people like him in this planet. Great post.

Leave a Reply

