Annular Solar Eclipse: May 2012 (Pictures/Videos)

Photos from those lucky enough to see this fantastic eclipse from  Asia to America.

Above: Hong Kong stargazers use telescopes to observe an annular solar eclipse along the Victoria Harbour in Hong Kong, Monday, May 21, 2012. Millions of Asians watched as a rare “ring of fire” eclipse crossed their skies early Monday. The annular solar eclipse, in which the moon passes in front of the sun leaving only a golden ring around its edges, was visible to wide areas across the continent Monday morning. (AP Photo/Vincent Yu)
(via The Courier Mail Picture Gallery)

Above: A partial annular solar eclipse is seen over Beijing, China, Monday, May 21, 2012
(AP Photo/Ng Han Guan) (via The Courier Mail Picture Gallery)

Above: The annular eclipse as seen over the Pueblo Bonito ancient building at Chaco Culture National Historical Park in Nageezi, Arizona. Photo: AFP
(via Brisbane Times Picture Gallery)

Above: Hikers watch an annular eclipse from Papago Park in Phoenix. Photo: AP
(via Brisbane Times Picture Gallery)


*The video below is an Al Jazeera news video, and mentions near the end of the video that there will be another eclipse in a months time when Venus crosses the sun.

*Other posts you may like from my blog:

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to Annular Solar Eclipse: May 2012 (Pictures/Videos)

  1. lolabees says:

    So cool. I’m sorry to say I missed it, so thanks for this post.

  2. Madhu says:

    Wow! Wonderful photots!

  3. A true lifetime experience

  4. There’s just something — I can’t quite name the emotion — about the third photo that is so compelling to me because humanity is part of it. Thank you so much for sharing this post.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Laurie,
      It maybe because the eclipse is over ancient ruins that makes it a little bit more compelling, it makes you wonder what ancient civilizations thought about the eclipses when they happened back then.🙂

  5. HI Mags! I saw it around 7:00 pm yesterday evening! What time did you see it? It felt like sunset for us because it was around the time sets. It’s nice to see pictures from all over the world🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Adri,
      Australia was one of the country’s that could not view it like Asia and America unfortunately, But what a sight for those that could.
      This map shows the path of the eclipse.

  6. Linda Vernon says:

    We saw this yesterday afternoon. It was quite erie. It was like wearing very dark sunglasses. I can definitely see how ancient civilizations could have taken it for a sign of some sort!

  7. aFrankAngle says:

    Great collection Mags! Brisbane photo gallery was awesome. We didn’t get it, so I’ve relied on blogs and the news for the best images.🙂 … well done!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Frank,
      Thank You for your very kind words. I agree, a great photo gallery in the Brisbane Times. Of course we also missed out here in OZ, but there are plenty of photos and videos around which is fantastic, we still get to see it all in thanks to technology.😀

  8. robincoyle says:

    I don’t remember an eclipse like last night’s happening before. Eerie and surreal – end of the world-ish.

  9. It makes you realize just how fast the moon is moving. When you see it on its own in the sky, it doesn’t really seem to be moving at all while you’re watching it. When I was a child and the moon was close to the Earth, I used to think that it was following us in the car. I simply didn’t believe my father when he said that it wasn’t, because it was very clear to me that we were being followed by the moon. I’d lost confidence in Daddy because he had been unable to explain to me why, when hail was colder than snow, we had hail in Sydney but we didn’t have snow. Called himself a scientist! O. K., he was an industrial chemist, but still… !

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      It is amazing how the planets work in the universe, it is so very complex, that is for sure, for me anyway.🙂
      I also used to wonder about the huge hail we get in storms that would cool the weather instantly, yet no snow in winter.

  10. Mags,

    You keep coming up with such wonderful posts. These pictures are amazing. Keep up the good work!!!

  11. El Guapo says:

    That shot of the people in front of the eclipse blew me away.
    Great stuff, Magsx2! Thanks!

  12. Totally amazing – it also makes me remember how tiny I am in the great state of play.

  13. I am so jealous. We didn’t get to see it here in the Southeast US. Wow. Looks like we missed out on the spectacular ‘ring of fire’.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi writingfeemail,
      I know the feeling well.🙂
      Thank goodness there are videos and pictures, this event will never happen again in our lifetime.

  14. niasunset says:

    Wonderful sun shots… This should have been so nice, I mean to watch and to take pictures. Thank you dear Mags, with my love, nia

  15. reb says:

    This escaped me totally … I hadn’t even heard about it, and I don’t know when it was or if I could have seen it. Weird… to miss out on a thing like this.

    In any event, the pictures were terrific and so was the video!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi reb,
      At least you have seen it now.🙂 I don’t think you could of seen it in your area, I didn’t see Canada on the map of the places it could be viewed. There are some partial eclipses coming up soon though, but the next ring of fire like we had yesterday will be in 2121.😀

  16. Windsmoke. says:

    Seen the solar eclipse on channel ten news last night is was very spectacular indeed🙂.

  17. That Phoenix image is amazing. Wow!

  18. I also vote the Phoenix one is the best. It’s almost as if they are walking on the moon. I’m glad I saw this because I did not see it in real life.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      That is exactly right, it does look like they are walking on the moon well said.🙂
      Unfortunately there was a lot of us that could not see the real thing, but still there is a lot of good information, photos and videos, which is great.

  19. Selma says:

    The Phoenix one is stupendous. You’d almost be forgiven for thinking it’s been photoshopped, it is so amazing. WOW. I am blown away!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      It is magnificent, it was taken by Associated Press so it is genuine, god only knows how many the photographer took to get this one, just perfect.😀

  20. Randel says:

    Thanx for posting this. This is awesome. My papers around town here are junk, there was no mention. I only found out by your posting.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Randel,
      That is unreal that your local papers didn’t do a story on this, such a big event for the world. There are a lot of fantastic photos and videos on the event around, and each and everyone are great. At least now you have seen what took place with the eclipse, truly an amazing sight. We couldn’t see it here in Australia, but it was on the evening news.🙂

  21. Thanks for this post! I wanted to see the eclipse last night and missed it.🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi August,
      It certainly was an event, magical in a way I think. I’m glad you liked the post, and Thank You for visiting and taking the time to comment.😀

  22. I found out about the Solar Eclipse an HOUR after it happened. Needless to say, I was kicking myself pretty hard, lol. Thanks for sharing the beauty, August! =D

  23. wow, great pictures! Thank you for sharing!

  24. travelrat says:

    I think the best & most atmospheric pictures are the ones of people watching the eclipse rather than the eclipse itself … we found a parallel at Uluru, when a Polish guy in our group took more (very good!) photos of people watching the sunrise on the rock, and only about two of the rock itself.

    We last had an eclipse of any note here in, I think, 1998 … we had 98% totality here; the only place you could see a 100% one was in Cornwall, which was completely clouded over!

    My friend, who lives in Cairo, said her Egyptian husband drew all the curtains, and wouldn’t let her go outside to see it, lest something evil befall them.

    As for the Transit of Venus, as it’s correctly known … maybe you know that observing it was the primary object of James Cook’s first voyage?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      They have put plenty of photos of the people watching in the picture gallery’s, all very interesting. I actually saw a few that did not use any sun filter at all, very silly on their part.
      No I didn’t know that about James Cook, how very interesting, thank you for the information.🙂

      • travelrat says:

        We heard all sorts of urban myths in 1998 … like, if you pointed your camera directly at the sun, it would either burn your film or melt the shutter.

        I put on just about every filter I owned … my pictures have an orange cast to them, which, in my opinion, made them even more atmospheric.

  25. Barb says:

    Thanks. It was raining here as usual. So here’s a hug for posting pictures.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barb,
      I’m sorry to hear that the weather was not much good, of all the days for it to rain. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.🙂

  26. starlaschat says:

    That was Great Mags! Thanks for doing a post on the eclips.

  27. Thanks for sharing these Mags! I didn’t get to view it from my part of the country so this is a real treat!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Michael,
      Yes it was a shame there was a lot of us that missed out, but still there are some great videos and photos of the event, and it was spectacular, just amazing what happens around the Earth.😀

  28. Subhan Zein says:

    Sweet Jesus Holy Mother God! Thae sun that looks like the moon is an absolute beauty!🙂

    Subhan Zein

  29. bronxboy55 says:

    Thanks for bringing this event to the rest of us, Mags. What an amazing sight.

  30. I hope nobody gets too upset with me. Some of the pics were nice, very nice. I need help, I guess, understanding where a ball of light with a dark ball in front of it, in today’s society, is worth everyone running everywhere to get pictures. Please help!
    Sorry to be so dense,
    Scott

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Scott,
      I think you will find the reason why this has been all over the news, and pictures everywhere of this event as well as videos, done by professional astronomers as well as everyday people, is because it is a once in a life time event. It is well recorded for future astronomers to study as well as something special for everyday people to show Grandchildren etc. The ring of fire as it is known as will not happen again until the year 2121, so it is very special indeed. The eclipses we will be having next is totally different to “the ring of fire”, kids will study this event in schools, learn about the movement of the planets, learn a bit about our solar system, yes a very special event indeed.😀

  31. Your blog is my “best coverage” of this so far -very nice, indeed! Thanks🙂

  32. EternalForms says:

    Amazing photograph of the hikers against the eclipse background!!! I don’t know why I didn’t hear about this until afterwards, so thanks for sharing the pics!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Eternal Forms,
      There are certainly a lot of amazing photos out there of the eclipse, I was lucky enough to see on the evening news, an amazing event.🙂

  33. Stepping My Way to Bliss says:

    I would have loved to be able to see this…especially the ring of fire. The third picture you show is incredible!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Bliss,
      I agree, it would of been fantastic to watch this, but at least we still got to see it in a way.😀
      The pictures are fantastic aren’t they, most were taken by Associated Press, a brilliant photographer, most likely with the best equipment money can buy.🙂

  34. Pingback: Last Chance in our Lifetime: Venus Travels Across Sun (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a Reply

