Emu Walks into Hotel: Western Australia (Video)

The Australian Emu is a large flightless bird, like the ostrich or cassowary. The emu is just about all over Australia, and is very common, they love food, and even if you are in a wildlife sanctuary or a zoo if the emu sees you carrying a bag with food it will hound you until it gets it.

                                                  Emu (photo wikimedia commons)

They have very soft brown feathers, and reach a height of 2 metres or 6.6 ft. Emus are very fast and they do travel long distances with no effort at all. They can sprint at 50 km/h or 31 mph, and their long legs can take strides of up to 275 centimetres or 9.02 ft. Their diet consists of a variety of plants and insects, but they ingest, stones, glass, metal and grind food in the digestive system. Emus can swim and they will also sit in water on very hot days. They do not sleep continuously at night but in short stints sitting down.

Emu (Dromaius novaehollandiae) at Lone Pine Ko...

Emu (Dromaius novaehollandiae) at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, Brisbane, Australia.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Like the Australian cassowary they use their claws as weapons, and their legs are among the strongest of any animal, they can easily rip metal wire fences, they have great eyesight, and hearing, there is no way to sneak up on an emu.

Emu feet

Emu feet (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now that you know a bit about the emu, can you imagine one of these birds walking into a hotel? Well this particular hotel is in Denham Western Australia, the hotel is called Shark Bay Hotel. Apparently this has happened before at this hotel, but this is the first time the emu has been caught on camera. Well he strides in, has a look around does his business (poops) and wanders out.😯

There is a very small article about this in News.com.au, and it is well worth the click to have a read I’m sure you will have a laugh.🙂

Thankfully, the incident was caught on CCTV, but all the emu left behind was his inconsiderate mess – and it took three people to clean it up before dinner service.
But would he be welcomed back into the pub?
“As long as it has money for a drink!” he said.

I am so very glad I do not work there, that would of been pretty messy to clean up.🙂


*I thought I would put this video in as well, just for a bit of a laugh.🙂


*Other  posts you may like from my blog:

This entry was posted in Animals, Australia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

105 Responses to Emu Walks into Hotel: Western Australia (Video)

  1. So funny! I love the clip of the dog and the emu! My sister lives in Juneau, alaska, where bears have wandered in through the sliding doors in the hospital emergency room, or the Food Land grocery and help themselves to sandwiches from the deli.

  2. Lynn says:

    Hello Mags.I made a comment last week and I’ve just checked that it shows me as anonymous.I don’t know what was wrong.I’ll check my dash board and see if it is my fault.
    I’m Lynn.

  3. niasunset says:

    This is so beautiful… I enjoyed so much, especially dog and emu… Last year when I was in Bournemouth there was an art gallery, and during night walking I saw a wonderful painting of an Emu, just it was the head… I remembered this now, They are amazing, especially with their face… Thank you dear, with my love, nia

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Nia,
      Yes the dog and the emu are really funny, I could not resist putting it in the post.🙂
      That’s great that their was a painting of an emu, you do not often see many paintings of emus outside of Australia.🙂

  4. travelrat says:

    So, the emu asks the barman for a schooner, and the barman says ‘Ten dollars, please!’

    After a few minutes, the barman says ‘You must excuse me staring, but we don’t get many emus in here!’

    Says the emu ‘At ten dollars a schooner, I’m not bloody surprised!’

  5. dfb says:

    Enjoyed this very much! Thank you.

  6. They can easily rip wire fences with their claws? Yowza! I’m glad to have watched both clips, as opposed to having been there in person!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Laurie,
      Oh yes much easier to watch a video.😀
      It is very rare for an emu to attack a human, put as I said if you have food they will hound you.🙂

  7. That was a most entertaining post, thank you. I now know considerably more about emus than I did a few minutes ago. I like the fact that, in the second video, the horses are completely ignoring the dog and the emu, as if it happens all the time and the novelty has worn off.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi tearoomdelights,
      Yes I would say they are very used to the dog and the emu running after each other, and know that there is no danger, just another day.😀

  8. viveka says:

    Brilliant … some massive bird !!!!!!! Don’t know who enjoyed it most – the dog or the emu !!! Good laugh anyhow.

  9. susielindau says:

    They are crazy looking birds!

  10. raisingdaisy says:

    Haha great videos, especially the second one! That really gave me a good laugh. It looked like the dog was having a good bit of fun….not sure about that emu though…😉

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi raisingdaisy,
      They were having a ball, a very good workout for the dog. Don’t the emus look funny when they are running, when they really run at top speed they are incredible to watch.😀

  11. Farrukh says:

    That second photo is a little close for comfort :p

  12. Doraz says:

    I just LOVE when you post about creatures of this world. I am smiling in California. Thanks.🙂

  13. robincoyle says:

    What a crack up – but I can’t open the video. Darn. I am rebooting my computer to see if that works.

  14. gitwizard says:

    This reminds me of a joke that a duck told me once……..

    An emu walks into a bar and hops on a stool. The bartender snarls, “What’ll you have?”

    The emu says, “Got any grapes?”

    The bartender spits and says “We don’t have grapes here, we serve drinks, now get out!”

    The emu hops off the stool and walks out.

    The next day, the same emu walks into the same bar, hops on a stool, looks the bartender in the eye and asks, “Got any grapes?”

    The bartender, irritated, says, “I told you yesterday we don’t serve grapes here, we serve drinks, now GET OUT!”

    The emu hops off the stool and walks out.

    The next day, the same emu walks into the same bar and hops on a stool, looks at the bartender, and asks, “Got any grapes?”

    The bartender, infuriated, pounds his fist on the bar and yells at the emu, “I told you two times we don’t serve grapes here, we serve drinks!
    If you ask me that ONE MORE TIME I’m going to nail your beak to the bar! NOW GET OUT!”

    With that, the emu shrugged, hopped off the stool and walked out.

    The next day, the same emu walked into the same bar, hopped on a stool, looked the bartender in the eye and asked, “Got any nails?”

    The bartender, puzzled, said no.

    The emu then looked him square in the eye and said, “Got any grapes?”

  15. Colline says:

    It is so funny when wildlife walk into our spaces. I would have been there with my camera too🙂

  16. reb says:

    Wonderful post! I so enjoyed the videos and learning a little more about the Emu.

    It looked so funny when it walked in to the bar …how it looked around, checked it out ..very elegant!

  17. Was that dog and emu scene scripted? If not, how did they know when to change directions from the chased to the one chasing? Too funny.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Ronnie,
      If you look closely at the guy standing in the middle he is giving a slight hand signal, when he did the animals reversed, very well done, and it is not an easy thing to train a emu. I think it would not of been possible if the dog and emu were not good friends.😀

  18. Gutsy emu! You’d never get a kiwi doing that, Mags!🙂

  19. Hey Mags, I haven’t been getting your email post notifications for some reason? What the heck is going on? I signed up again, we’ll see if that helps…?
    This Emu video with the dog was super fun. I had no idea that they were so strong and fast?

  20. Cafe says:

    Haha! What was the name of that other bird you wrote about? That scary one. The emu is a close contender, but I think that one beat the emu lol.

  21. Windsmoke. says:

    I did laugh at the Emu and Dog video but i think the Emu won out in the end🙂.

  22. jmgoyder says:

    I’ve never seen either of those clips – fantastic!

  23. aFrankAngle says:

    Ha ha … love the dog and emu video! At least I’ve heard of this animal.🙂 And wow … your have quite the collection of people commenting!!! Well done!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Frank,
      An animal you have heard of oh I am slipping.😆
      The video is great, you really have to laugh at the pair of them chasing each other like that, obviously the best of friends.
      We have a great community of bloggers.🙂

  24. Linda Vernon says:

    What a delightful post. Emu’s are weird! And that who’s chasing who video is priceless! 😀 I enjoyed reading this very much! HA!

  25. Great videos Mags! Animals are funny sometimes – of course they probably think the same thing about us!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Michael,
      I am sure they think we are very strange.😀
      You can only laugh at the emu, they do some strange but funny things.🙂

  26. hotlyspiced says:

    I didn’t know emus could swim. I’ve never seen them in water. That dog and the emu sure are getting their exercise! xx

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi hotlyspiced,
      Oh yes they love the water especially on hot days, they will sit in the water for hours, and they love to swim.🙂
      The dog and the emu are great together aren’t they, very unusual friends.

  27. E.C. says:

    lol Those Emus are so big. I enjoyed the videos. We got a good chuckle out of the dog & the emu chasing each other. Too funny!😆

  28. The emu might have been giving his opinion of the hotel’s decoration.

    In the second video, the emu shows that he knows when to give up. The dog does not display as much intelligence. I liked the horses – all just standing there, ignoring the whole thing. Beneath their dignity.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      The emu did look like he was looking around at the decor.😀
      The horses were amazing, if they started to shake their heads it would not of surprised me.😀

  29. Madhu says:

    A winner there Mags🙂 The second one was hilarious, music and all. Thanks for a good laugh🙂

  30. What got me was how fast the emu could dash around on only two legs. I wouldn’t want to be chased by one, that’s for sure. Or have to clean up after one either.🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      Emus are very fast 31 mph is their speed when running, and along with that, when running at top speed each stride is around 9 foot apart, the emu would be past you and gone before you even realized it.😀
      Cleaning up after it would be an awful job, I do feel for the workers at the hotel, it took 3 of them to do it.

  31. Enjoyed the film and the informational details! Life is glorious!
    Scott

  32. what a lovely fun post ..dog and emu one was too good

  33. This is too funny. I definitely would not have been as brave as that woman in the video, walking right up to take a picture!🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi The Scrumptious Pumpkin,
      Glad you enjoyed the post, the emu would not attack at all she was very safe, of course if the emu felt in danger or cornered with nowhere to go they will defend themselves.🙂

  34. Gosh, that just sounds like a terribly bad joke, doesn’t it?
    (Fun post! :))

  35. Lenore Diane says:

    Hello Mags. I loved the twist the Emu did at the end (last video). You provide such fun entertainment. Thank you!

  36. I once had an emu – or maybe it was an ostrich – grab hold of my umbrella through the fence at the zoo. What a grip! I don’t think I could have wrestled it away by myself. This is a hoot.

  37. Randel says:

    Video brings a smile at the end of the day. Thanx.

  38. Wow, I’m glad I wasn’t at that hotel when the Emu walked in!

  39. I love emus! Sounds lame, but I seriously had an animal crush on them as a teen.😉

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi August,
      There are a lot of people that emus as pets, best to get them when they are very young, but you do need a lot of space for them.🙂

  40. These birds are not exactly a sparrow. Interesting Mags!

  41. BoJo Photo says:

    I wouldn’t mess with that bird! Two twin Apache brothers once tried to give me one. Dog reminds me of my own. Very funny!

  42. Selma says:

    Emus obviously are characters. I had no idea. I would love to see one in the wild but as of yet, never have. We really do have some great wildlife in Australia!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      They certainly are characters. It is a shame you haven’t seen them in the wild, they do look hilarious when they run flat out, they have this sort of fast bum wiggle.😀
      I agree, we have some great wildlife and some very unusual and unique species as well.

  43. starlaschat says:

    I had no idea that Emu’s could run so fast. I think I enjoyed watching the man run as much as the Emu I thought he had a pretty funny run! Good too know how fast these guys can move. Nice that they cought the Emu on tape not so funny that they had a lot of poop to clean up yuck!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi starlaschat,
      It doesn’t take the good old emu long to get to top speed, and I’m certainly glad I wasn’t one of those poor people that had to clean up the mess.😀

  44. Gregoryno6 says:

    Reblogged this on The mind is an unexplored country. and commented:
    Australian wildlife! If it doesn’t bite or sting, it leaves something on the floor you can slip on.

  45. Tony McGurk says:

    Did the barman ask him if he wanted a stubby? I’m thinking the emu would’ve replied “No I prefer longnecks”
    The emu & dog reminded me of when I run through the house & Dixie chases me then I turn & chase her back, the she chases me again. I usually wear out before she does.

Leave a Reply

