Octopus Squeeze (Video)

It is amazing how a large octopus can squeeze itself through such a small tube, as you will see in the National Geographic video below. This octopus is 600 pounds or just over 272 kilos yet it manages to slide through the tube without any problems. Octopus have no bones, this is what makes them so very flexible.

 

Other posts you may like from my blog:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Octopus Squeeze (Video)

  1. Oh, dear, Magsx2, I’m laughing just imagining how Charles will respond to this video. He just loooooves these animals. I’m sure, when he does watch it, he’ll agree that it’s fascinating. Ha ha ha.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi AA,
      They are amazing animals, so very different from a lot of other marine life, I didn’t know that Charles liked the good old octopus.😀

  2. Linda Vernon says:

    Ha! I’m sure glad people have bones. There wouldn’t be much privacy if they didn’t. They’d be able to squeeze in anywhere! 😀

  3. niasunset says:

    WOW! This is amazing to watch like that… I mean in the tube… I can’t say that I love them but they are amazing creature, in this video like a dancing with her arms… there is a nice action… Thank you dear Mags, love, nia

  4. It’s always so interesting the tidbits you share! This is a happy place on the internet…loved the video!!!!

  5. wolke205 says:

    Yeehaaaaw – they are great animals🙂

  6. lolabees says:

    Wow! What crazy creatures. Thanks for sharing more cool stuff, mags.

  7. Viveka says:

    Just a bit like me .. *smile – Amazing video – amazing “thing” and they even taste good deep fried and salted. Love your videos – amazing to see how it manage through all those tubs. Wonderful and a big THANKS!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Viveka,
      Oh I agree, very nice deep fried.😀
      It is incredible to watch it go through the tubes you just can’t believe something that big could do that.

  8. Over 600 pounds! 240 suction cups! No bones! Oh my gosh — that video clip was AMAZING!

  9. I may never look at yoga the same way again. He nearly looks like lava in a lava lamp – all fluid movements. Wow.

  10. jakesprinter says:

    Excellent work Mags

  11. As much as I love the ocean I do get a little freaked out to know that there are so many varieties of under water life that I know nothing about. The ocean might as well be filled with aliens! I will say that when ever these creatures are photographed they are incredibly beautiful and ethereal looking.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi A Gripping Life,
      I agree the oceans are full of just so many amazing creatures, and some do look a bit like aliens.😀
      I personally don’t much like the look of the octopus, but I admire such an amazing creature, the many different species of octopus that are are around and each and every one is unique in their own way.

  12. They really are amazing creatures, Mags. Cheers!🙂

  13. Windsmoke. says:

    What i liked about this video is that it showed the Octopus actually using his suckers on his tentacles to move through the glass tube🙂.

  14. malc50 says:

    Fascinating, Mags! Thanks for sharing this piece of wonderment.

  15. robincoyle says:

    Amazing. He can squeeze through a space no wider than a quarter?!? Imagine taking a nice dip in the ocean and running into him! Ugh!

  16. aFrankAngle says:

    I didn’t realize they could compress that much! Good find Mags!

  17. BoJo Photo says:

    That defies logic!!! 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi BoJo Photo,
      It certainly does, logic tells you something that big is not going to go through those small tubes, but this time logic losers.😀

  18. Elyse says:

    Holy Suction cups , Batman

  19. hotlyspiced says:

    Amazing. The advantages of no bones! But they really are unattractive.

  20. Lenore Diane says:

    Know what Mags? I’ve read and heard, Octopus only live for approximately 8yrs. That makes me said, because they seem to be such intelligent and incredibly interesting creatures. 8yrs is not long enough! This video was great.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lenore,
      Most marine animals don’t have long life spans, to them it is probably a long time though. Take the cuttlefish for example their life span is only 2 years tops.🙂

  21. Oooh! Neato! What a cool video, Mags. 🙂 I find the ocean fascinating, though I’ve never thought much about octopus behavior. The narrator said in the video a giant octopus like that could squeeze through a hole the size of a quarter? Amazing.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Melissa,
      The ocean is full of wonders, and it is amazing all the different species of marine life that she holds. The octopus is just amazing how it can squeeze through such a small space.

  22. reb says:

    Imagine if a prisoner had those capabilities!🙂

    Beautiful video…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi reb,
      It certainly would have to be a room that was sealed tight, but then there would be no oxgygen.😀
      Glad you enjoyed the video.

  23. momshieb says:

    That bonelessness makes them easy to clean and cook, too! Mmmmmmmmmmm!

  24. mj monaghan says:

    What the heck?? That is just amazing. I had no idea they could do that. Fascinating.

  25. Arindam says:

    Hi Mags,
    Amazing video. I never ever thought that, an octopus could squeeze that much. Great post Mags. Thanks for sharing this.🙂

  26. Wow! Amazing video. I have not seen an octopus in action before. I saw a baby one but not the one legends are based of. Cool post!

  27. Indira says:

    This is amazing.

  28. Thats it no more yoga classes…as they said no matter whatt we will never be this flexible lol
    its amazing

  29. Colline says:

    It is amazing that they can go through such a small space!

  30. Selma says:

    WOW. I would never have expected an octopus to squeeze into such a small space. Just amazing!

  31. My kind of video – I love octopi!
    Of course, I love almost anything different, strange, and well yeah.

  32. starlaschat says:

    No bones about it that probably would be fun to go any where you wanted to go it hard to imagine with all these bones in my body. :+)

  33. Tony McGurk says:

    Lucky it’s not claustrophobic

  34. Mags, I will keep my bones and go to yoga classes anyway. I never much cared to be an octopus anyway!

  35. I’m not worried about the octopus since he’s not going to try to get into my home. Now the rats, mice, and snakes with their ability to squeeze through small holes…….. different story. lol

Leave a Reply

