Stairway To The Moon: Broome Australia

Some people call it the staircase to the moon, either way it is a natural phenomenon, that can be seen at a place called Broome in Western Australia. The best viewing spot for this is at Roebuck Bay. This beautiful illusion is only created when the tide is fully out, which exposes mudflats, and the moon is full.

Broome location map in Western Australia

Broome location map in Western Australia
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 As the moon rises over the exposed mudflats it creates the optical illusion of a staircase or stairway leading up the the full moon, simply stunning.

This phenomenon happens between March and October every year. There are a lot of tourists as well as locals that go, so expect crowds, if you are thinking of going, also some nights they have markets on or entertainment, so it can be a great night out for the whole family.

You can find the dates for this event for 2012 on the Broome Community web site. (also photo source)

It was hard to find real pictures of this event, a lot of people posting pictures that was just the moon shinning on the water, not the actually stairway to the moon, but I did find a very nice photo of the event on flickr if you would like a have a look

I found 2 videos that was fairly good, both had Embedding disabled, I feel this one got the best shot of the event. Staiway to the moon.

Other posts you may like from my blog:

This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Stairway To The Moon: Broome Australia

  1. Isn’t this fascinating. I love naturally occurring phenomenons such as this!

  2. niasunset says:

    This is amazing… I am impresses so much… Thank you dear Mags, you share always such a beautiful and interesting events, fascinates me… Love, nia

  3. viveka says:

    Amazing … never heard about this … love the photo. It’s was like I always heard that the moon was bigger and much more red in Japan before I saw it with me own eye – it was massive and it was like I could have touched and burned orange in color. Fantastic.

  4. A natural, phenomenal, wonder of the world. Another learning for me today – thank you.

  5. This is incredible! I will be sure to be in Australia between March and October! I want to see this🙂 thanks for letting me know Mags! I love reading and discovering new things!!
    Adri

  6. Windsmoke. says:

    Mother nature certainly has a lot of tricks up her sleeve for us to enjoy🙂.

  7. That’s incredibly cool! Such a beautiful sight. I’m going to start making a list of some of these wonderful sights to see in Australia. If I ever visit I’ll be ready!

  8. robincoyle says:

    So cool! Can I go with you next time it happens?

  9. This must look so beautiful live and in person. Incredible!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi The Scrumptious Pumpkin,
      I haven’t been lucky enough to see this in person, a couple of friends that live a bit closer have been there and they said it was magical was the exact words.😀
      Broome where this event takes place, is about 4.000 km or just under 2,500 miles from where I live in Brisbane.🙂

  10. Selma says:

    I really want to go and see this. It is like a real piece of magic. WOWEEE!!

  11. Linda Vernon says:

    Wow! Look at that! Another wonder I’ve never heard of before and probably never would without your blog Mags! 😀

  12. Another learning experience….very fascinating. It must be lovely to see in real life.

  13. mj monaghan says:

    Mags, that is so cool. I would love to see that in person. Don’t know if I’ll ever get up the courage to fly that far though.🙂

  14. Oh, wow! That is an incredible phenomenon. I wouldn’t have known if not your wonderful post. I would love to see a “Stairway to the Moon” one day. Beautiful post. Thanks for the sharing and for the recent comment.
    http://thismansjourney.net/2012/06/13/weekly-image-of-life-happiness/

  15. Hi Magsx2, this is lovely. I looked at the photo on Flickr and the thought which struck me was what a great book cover it would make. It must be amazing to see it in reality.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi loonyliterature,
      The photo on flickr is just gorgeous, I thought it was one of the best that I could find of this beautiful illusion. I totally agree, I think it would also look great on a book cover. Oh yes it would be fantastic to see this phenonmenon.

      • Hi Magsx2, I think we are so lucky these days. For instance, an ordinary person living in England in the 1700s would never get the chance to see a photograph of the moon looking like that.

        • magsx2 says:

          That is so true, but they would of most likely drawn the illusion, but I think they would of still worked out how the illusion happens.🙂

  16. This is just amazing! Never saw anything like this before!

  17. malc50 says:

    Thanks Mags. I don’t know how you do it, but you consistently come up with posts of interest about the World – both natural and man-made. Thanks for extending my education and broadening my knowledge of the world we live in! Cheers, Mal.

  18. Seen pics of it mate but never had the chance yet to see it in person
    Apparently it is spectacular
    Cheers
    Ian

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Ian,
      I have friends that were lucky enough to see this a couple of times, they don’t live that far away from the area, and yes it is spectacular.😀

  19. aFrankAngle says:

    Not only another new one for me … but awesome!

  20. Madhu says:

    Truly fascinating! You do ferret out the most amazing things to educate us with! Thank you🙂

  21. adinparadise says:

    Fabulous phenomenon and so well photographed.😉

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi adinparadise,
      It is amazing what wonders nature can show us.
      Thank You very much for visiting and also for taking the time to comment.

  22. paigeaddams says:

    That is so cool.🙂 I’d like to see something like that someday.

    And I wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Reader Apprecation Award.🙂

  23. starlaschat says:

    Thank You Mags for sharing this. I had no idea and had not heard about the stairway to the moon. How Wonderful. :+)

  24. Beautiful photo! And interesting phenomenon!

  25. El Guapo says:

    COOL!!! That is definitely worth a trip around the world!

  26. bronxboy55 says:

    Yet another incredible thing I never knew about. It’s one of the reasons I keep coming back to your blog, Mags. Thank you.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bronxboy55,
      Thank You.🙂
      This illusion is really beautiful, and of course the different colours as well that it seems to bring up as the moon is rising just adds to the wonder of it all.🙂

  27. Indira says:

    Wow mags , photo and video both are fascinating.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Indira,
      I’m glad to hear you had a look at the video, it is lovely to watch, the illusion from the moon is definitely fascinating.🙂

  28. That would be something to see!

  29. I have never heard of this “stairway”. The flickr link was beautiful. Thanks, you have just added a new spot to my extensive bucket travel list. 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi FindingStrengthToStandAgain,
      It is an amazing illusion, especially with the added colours as the moon rises. I also have a long bucket list.😀
      Thank You very much for taking the time to comment.

  30. That is really cool!

Leave a Reply

