Movie: Prometheus (Video)

This is the first time I have done a post about a movie, but I was so disappointed with this movie I just had to say something. We decided to go to the movies on Wednesday night to watch this as Tuesday’s is discount day and always packed, it was a good decision, and there were only 6 of us in the cinema, to us that was perfect, no interruptions while watching the movie at all.

We don’t see a lot of movies on the big screen unless the movie has a lot of special effects. I am a Sci-Fi fan from way back, and I was really looking forward to seeing this one, and you also had the choice of watching this in 3D as well. Of course we decided on the 3D version, another reason to watch the movie on the big screen.

This movie to me was very boring, and very predictable, there was only a couple of parts in the movie that was good. For those that are fans of the “Alien” movies, well Prometheus is actually the very beginning of the “Alien” movie; it leads up to where “Alien” started.

It is definitely a prequel to “Alien” and yes you have to go back 33 years to remember this movie. I own all the “Alien” movies on DVD, but for the younger generation a lot would not be able to put the two movies together. Prometheus is a mish mash of a lot of Sci- Fi movies, it seems they have used different ideas from a whole lot of movies and just rolled them all together, and it was the worst acting I have seen in a very long time, to the point is was laughable.

This movie has had a lot of mixed reviews, for those that have never seen “Alien” it would of been different for them, for the “oldies” we have seen it all before. We knew what was on the planet before they arrived, we knew what they were going to find, and with the bad acting it just made it worse.

Rated M 15 years + in Australia
Rated R Restricted.Β  in the USA

This preview I feel would not be suitable for children.

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Movie: Prometheus (Video)

  1. I probably shouldn’t admit this, but although I am a sci-fi fan (I loveStar Trek, Firefly, Men in Black, etc.), I have been too chicken to watch Alien or its sequels because I KNOW it will scare the bejabbers out of me. I was only able to watch Jurassic Park by running into the kitchen and washing a few dishes when the tension got too high. So, yes, I am a movie weenie.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Naomi,
      There are a lot of people that don’t like Horror, Sci-Fi, movies, especially the ones that you know are scary, I have been watching these type of movies for a long, long time, and it really does have to be good to get me to jump at a scene. You would not of liked Alien, it was scary, a brilliant movie and great special effects, I know the dialogue I have watched it so many times.πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the heads up! I really wanted to see this but now I’ll just skip it. I had heard from someone else that it was very predictable. Oh well. Hopefully your review will spare some bloggers the expense.

    • magsx2 says:

      A Gripping Life,
      There are others that thought this movie was great, although if you are a true Sci-Fi fan you would be disappointed. I knew it was a prequel to Alien, but honestly a lot of the acting was laughable, and I could easily pick scenes that was in the movie that I have seen in other Sci-fi movies, just with different actors. Save your money, and watch it on DVD.

  3. I’m with Naomi on this one – any horror films have me hiding behind the sofa

  4. gitwizard says:

    I heard a review of this on the BBC and their take on it wasn’t too positive either. I never go to the cinema any more, it’s too expensive.
    Probably just as well that you put the warning up about “not being suitable…” but in my experience, most kids see much more disagreeable stuff than this on their Xbox.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi gitwizard,
      Yes kids do see a lot more today, but best to be on the safe side considering the movie rating in most of the world is 15 and over.πŸ™‚

  5. It is so disappointing when this happens.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi loonyliterature,
      It really is, I don’t get caught like that very often thank goodness, but it was very boring.

      • Hello Magsx2 We got caught like that with the second Sherlock Holmes film starring Jude Lawe. It was rubbish. We were mystified how they could do what they did.

        • magsx2 says:

          Hi loonyliterature,
          It certainly is disappointing when you go to the movies expecting the movie to be at least entertaining, and at the prices we pay these days to have some decent acting as well.

          • Hello Magsx2, I totally agree with you. Up until about ten years ago, going to the movies was a regular outing. However, the prices have rocketed so much – it is now a special treat for a full family to go. This is what makes it so annoying when we are offered rubbish. We feel disappointed and ripped off. When you posted about your experience, I understood exactly how you felt and I am sure that so did many other people.

  6. The music to the previews is so high anxiety! lol—thanks for the review, now I know. I wasn’t sure I wanted to watch it.

  7. Windsmoke. says:

    I’ll wait until its screened on t.v.πŸ™‚.

  8. Hi Mags – I AM old enough to remember Alien (more’s the pity!), but I shall give this one a miss. Thanks for the heads up.πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi This Sydney Life,
      Alien was one of the best I think, I actually thought the 4 Alien movies that were made were very good, but not this one.πŸ™‚

  9. I don’t know why, but for whatever reason science fiction has never been a draw for me — books or film.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Laurie,
      A lot of my friends also are not into these type of movies, they are not for everyone that is for sure.πŸ™‚

    • blackwatertown says:

      I know sci fi raises interesting concepts and situations – but – with some notable exceptions (Blade Runner, Alien, I Robot maybe) the films don’t grab me.

      • magsx2 says:

        Hi blackwatertown,
        There definitely isn’t a huge audience for a lot of these type movies, not like what you would get with a good Drama or Comedy I imagine.

  10. Colline says:

    Disappointing! The write-up in the paper was so positive – especially as the director is the same one as the first of the Alien films. It is a great pity when the special effects overshadows the acting.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Colline,
      Yes I expected a lot better, I thought it would be good to add to my collection of the Alien movies, but I certainly won’t be buying this one unfortunately.

  11. Ok, liked “Aliens” and most of the rest of the series (really didn’t care for the first one). So, I want to see this, but will settle for an Amazon (TV) presentation online. Cheaper and I can hit “pause”
    (or “stop” for that matter).
    Thanks,
    Scott
    PS- you might try “Chronicles”. I did like that and it wasn’t particularly predictable. Only problem is it is one of those in which the film is a handheld like some other movie styles. Not bad though.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Scott,
      Yes it is a good idea to wait for Prometheus to hit the TV screens.πŸ™‚
      I havn’t seen Chronicle yet, but wil get that out on DVD to watch, I have seen the preview and it does look interesting.
      Preview not suitable for Children I feel.

  12. Barb says:

    No no tell me it isn’t so. I’ve been waiting for this movie for several months. The trailers look great. I’ve been waiting for kids to come home from college, so all the sci-fi fans in our family can see it together .
    Well, shoot darn heck. I thought it was strange that Madagascar 3 beat it in box office sales last weekend. But will probably go see Prometheus anyway. I’ll just make sure we go on a discount afternoon. Thanks.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barb,
      I agree, the trailers do look very good, there were a lot of trailers that came out for the promotion of the movie. I’m glad you are still going to see it, I know what it is like waiting for what seems like ages for a movie to come out. There is one really good scene as I said above, or that I thought was alright anyway, but I do hope you enjoy it more than I did. But if you are a Sci-Fi fan you will no doubt pick up on a lot of scenes from other movies, just done with these new actors. Try not to laugh at the “who cares” attitude of the Captain.πŸ™‚

  13. Lenore Diane says:

    Alien/Aliens remains high on my list of favorite movies. I was excited to see this prequel, because it sounded like a good idea. I am sorry it was boring, Mags. It’s a shame. I’ll save this one as rent and watch from home – or skip entirely. I may just have to go back and watch the original. “Game over, Man! Game over!”

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lenore,
      Yes I enjoyed the 4 Aliens movies, but do hire this one out when it becomes available, at least it won’t cost very much and you can say you saw the prequel.πŸ™‚

  14. El Guapo says:

    Wow, that’s too bad. I had high hopes for this one.
    Thanks for the heads up, Magsx2.

  15. Oster's Mom says:

    Thanks for writing this. My husband and I rarely go out to the theater and when we do it better be good. This was on our summer list. After reading your post I’ve scratched it off. I can wait for it to come out on broadcast TV.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Oster’s Mom,
      Best to watch this one when it is released on TV or DVD. I watch a lot of movies, all kinds of movies, and I have never seen acting this bad for a long time, and knowing what was going to happened next did not help at all. I assume you have seen a lot of Sci-Fi movies, if so you will be disappointed in this one.
      It is a movie though that has a lot of different reviews, I have seen a few that have really liked this movie, I assume they hadn’t seen Alien to know that this was a prequel, and not a good one at that.

  16. Arindam says:

    Hi Mags,
    Movie review in your blog. It’s something new for all of us. After reading this review of yours, I hope it’s better to watch this movie on television rather than going to a theater.πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Airndam,
      Very different for me to be doing a post about a movie, most likely you will never see another one.πŸ˜€
      It was just that I felt so disappointed, during the movie, and definitely when it was finished.πŸ™‚

  17. Oh Mags, I wish I had read your post before spending the money to go to the movies for this one. I too thought it had great promise and love Charlize Theron. After seeing her in Snow White, I was disappointed in her lackluster performance in Prometheus. I guess the best way to describe my husband’s reaction was that he said he wished he had just stayed in the pasture with the horses. Yikes!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi writingfeemail,
      I said to my husband, well that was a waste of time, and he certainly agreed, poor guy had me sitting next him saying: That idea was taken from a scene out of “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”, and Oh you are kidding me that was taken from the plot of a “Mission to Mars” and the list went on.πŸ˜€

  18. aFrankAngle says:

    We weren’t Alien fans to begin with. Saw the preview a couple of weeks ago, we looked at each other and said Nope. Thanks for the confirmation.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Frank,
      That is one of the main reasons I went to see Promehteus was because it was the prequel to Aliens, as I own all 4 Alien movies on DVD, so I was very disappointed in this movie, it certainly isn’t any fun when you know exactly what is going to happen.

  19. hotlyspiced says:

    I didn’t bother seeing that movie as I heard bad reviews before it was released. It’s a shame you went to all that effort only to be so disappointed. Aliens was a great movie and one that I remember well despite it being released all those years ago xx

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi hotlyspiced,
      I agree Aliens was an excellent movie, I have watched it that many times, the whole series actually, that is why I thought this one would be just as good or even better, same director as the first Alien movie, so it was a huge disappointment.

  20. Bruce says:

    Thanks Mags, I’ll save my money for something else. Bruce

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Bruce,
      I have a feeling this one will not be on for that long at the movies, I would definitely wait for the DVD or even the TV release.

      • Bruce says:

        Interesting that you posted on a movie; I have a couple in the process line though they are not what I’d class as a review, more a view.

        • magsx2 says:

          It is the very first time I have posted about a movie, I was so very disappointed. It has been a long time since I felt that sort of disappointment. I will be looking forward to reading your posts.

  21. lolabees says:

    I also only go to the movies on rare occasions, and now only if I know it’s a really good movie. It can be disappointing to see a bad film. And I love empty theaters! Thanks for the movie tip– maybe I’ll watch if it comes to cable.πŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi lolabees,
      Exactly, the big screen is good to watch a movie with a lot of special effects I feel, and all the Alien movies had that, and of course I love watching something in 3D it did seem like a win, win, but I was wrong there was no win, win, with this one.πŸ™‚

  22. Stepping My Way to Bliss says:

    I hate it when an eagerly anticipated movie does not meet one’s expectations. I have never seen the Alien movies so this is not one I would probably go see but thanks for the head’s up. : )

  23. I just saw the preview before seeing The Avengers. It looked good, but thanks for the warning! I’ll wait to see it on Netflix.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi AA,
      They made a lot of different previews for this movie during the promotion, all looked really good if you are a Sci-Fi fan, it was a shame, I am sure they could of done a lot more with this. The Avengers was a excellent movie, I would reccommend that one to everybody.πŸ™‚

  24. viveka says:

    Remember when I saw the first β€œAlien” film and left the cinema after that thing come out from somebodys stomach. Terrible movie. Haven’t seen a Sci-Fi since then, more than “IT”.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi viveka,
      Oh yes the Alien movies were Sci-Fi/horror definitely not for everyone, but there are some good funny Sci-Fi movies as well, think E.T. or The Men in Black are the first ones that come to mind.πŸ™‚

      • viveka says:

        Sorry, I meant ET – sweet film … man in black … silly in my book.

        • magsx2 says:

          E.T. was a lovely movie, I notice they show it every now and then on T.V. It seems each generation is seeing it, I don’t think I have heard of anybody not really liking that one, it is a great family movie.πŸ™‚

  25. Gregoryno6 says:

    Thanks for the warning Mags, but I can’t resist it anyway.
    I have avoided reading too many reviews pro or con, mainly because I have a hope that they used a couple of ideas from the script for Alien 3 that William Gibson wrote. It’s online somewhere so you can read it yourself.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Greg,
      I know Alien 3 very well, I thought all the Alien movies were brilliant, and I fully expected Prometheus to be added to my collection, but it won’t be. I do hope you enjoy the movie a lot more than I did. Most disappointing to me was a lot of scenes were used that I have seen in other movies, and knowing exactly what was going to happen, but worse of all the acting was laughable. I know you also watch a lot of movies, and I would be interested to hear your take on it after you have seen it.

      • Gregoryno6 says:

        Gibson’s Alien 3 script wasn’t actually used for the movie. I found it, have a read.
        http://www.awesomefilm.com/script/Alien3.txt
        Prometheus may disappoint, but I can’t believe it will be any worse than Alien Resurrection. Alien Resurrection – HA! Alien Regurgitation, more like it.

        • magsx2 says:

          Thank You for the link, I will definitely read that a bit later in the day, it will be interesting to see if any of it was used in Prometheus.

          • Gregoryno6 says:

            Well, here I am post Prometheus. Fairly ordinary story, but the visuals gave me my ticket’s worth.
            The end would have made more sense if Shaw had said ‘Because I want to give those bastards a dose of their own medicine!’
            And maybe it’s just me, but I thought Guy Pearce’s makeup resembled Rupert Murdoch.

          • magsx2 says:

            I’m glad you got something out of the movie.πŸ™‚
            I didn’t pick up on the makeup.πŸ˜†

        • Gregoryno6 says:

          The one moment that really sticks in my mind is during the opening sequence. As the engineer drinks his cup of goo the flying saucer suddenly tilts 90 degrees. I don’t recall ever seeing that before, and it seemed a good omen… alas…

  26. reb says:

    Mags,
    Not a chance I would have been tempted to watch this anyway. Not my genre at all …
    We went to the movies a few times in Quebec, and we were sometimes the only ones in the theatre. There was only one [theatre] for English-speaking movies, and it later shut down. Felt strange to be alone in the big salon.

    I’ve fallen behind on the commenting/blogging thing… slowly catching upπŸ™‚

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi reb,
      What a shame they closed it down. We really pick our times when we go to the movies, of course we have been when it is packed and I have had to get the movie out on DVD there is a lot you miss sometimes. People laughing out loud, which is always good except you miss what is being said on screen, kids playing up and parents letting them, babies crying and parents not taking them outside, and the list goes on. I love it when there are only a few people in the cinema.πŸ™‚ If we see a lot of people lining up now, we usually go back home and try another night.

  27. mj monaghan says:

    Thanks for the review, Mags. I debated in my head about going. For some reason the Aliens franchise idea didn’t appeal to me. In fact I haven’t seen the first movie in its entirety. I’m not a suspense or horror fan and it had too many elements from those genres.

  28. Selma says:

    There has been so much hype surrounding this movie, I think everybody was expecting something spectacular. A friend of mine saw it and also didn’t think much of it. Think I’ll leave it until it comes out on DVD.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Selma,
      Yes best to watch it on DVD, most of the special effects Sci-Fi fans have all seen before, it certainly isn’t worth spending the money to see this one at the movies in my opinion.

  29. I have never seen an Alien movie. I did just see The Avengers and was surprised at how good it was! My husband and I both loved it.

  30. Good on you, Mags, for saying what you think. I’m pleased that you mentioned the acting. I haven’t seen this film and don’t particularly want to see it – even less so, now – but I did see a couple of Alien films on television. The first one was very good, although I’m not a fan of monster/horror films in general. The second one was perhaps redundant, but Americans often place money-making above Art in a lot of their films. It was still a good film but we now knew what to expect, so it had lost its edge. And no-one in their right mind would have sent the girl out there a second time. She couldn’t possibly have been capable of dealing with another encounter. In the film, she manages it, of course. It might be Sci-Fi but you need a minimum amount of identification with the hero (in this case, a heroine). The acting in these two films was good. I don’t know what happened in the others because I didn’t see them. Things probably degenerated. Sometimes, bad acting in films is not always the fault of the actors. When you’re on the 61st take of part of a scene, your energy might have wilted slightly. Some films are not well-organized and actors are sometimes treated like cattle. It is said that the stage is the actor’s medium. Films are that of the director. It is his or her responsibility to make sure that all is ready for the Action call, so that nothing messes up the scene being shot and the actors can do their work the way that it should be done. After that, there is the editing of the film, which is also out of the actors’ hands. Editing is tremendously important and can sometimes make actors look less than competent. However, I agree that in a lot of these films where the hero has to be mostly undressed, physique seems to be more important than acting skills. Perhaps you and I are just too fussy, Mags!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      Unfortunately this movie does not really have any sort of hero, although they did try. Oh I agree about the writers, a lot of scenes on board the ship was very badly written, and the actors would not of been able to do anything more with those, but the acting itself was not good, there were a lot of parts where the acting was more like talking to your neighbour, no concern shown at all for your partners being lost on an alien planet it was bizarre.πŸ™‚

  31. I’ll probably see it eventually, but I don’t go to movie theaters anymore, so it’s commercial TV or Netflix.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Russel Ray Photos,
      We only go if there are a lot of special effects, plus I love 3D and Sci-Fi, but this one was just not worth the effort.

  32. I need to watch this movie soon. Exciting…I love super fiction since I was a child. Thanks.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi island traveler,
      Yes I have always loved Sci-Fi, but this movie was not worth paying the money to see it at the movies, best to wait for the DVD, if you would like to see it.

  33. dearrosie says:

    What a surprise to see a movie review here Mags, but how nice! I’m not a Sci- Fi fan and thanks to the heads up will definitely not rush out to catch the movie on the big screen.

  34. Totally agree, this was my first movies for years, yesterday, and so dissapointed. Ridley Scott made Blade Runner years ago and that was really a movie!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bentehaarstad,
      It was a very disappointing movie, such a shame it had potential I think to be very good. Yes I saw Blade Runner and I agree a very good movie.

  35. Pingback: Piling on: the proliferating putdowns of Prometheus. Plus poetry. « The mind is an unexplored country.

Leave a Reply

