Barracuda Jumps into Boat (Video)

The barracuda is well known for it’s size as well as it’s fearsome appearance. They can reach up to 1.8 m in length or just under 6 ft. and 30 cm in width or 11 inches, they are found in subtropical oceans worldwide.
Barracudas are voracious predators and rely on surprise and speed. They have been known to go as fast as 43 km/h or 27 mph. When they catch their prey they consume by tearing large chunks of flesh. Their teeth are very sharp and fang-like.

From You Tube:
While Filming a segment for our fishing show, Tails From The Outdoors Show, you must see this amazing footage of a 40 lb Barracuda jumping into our boat!

Florida Sport Fishing TV looks at one of Florida’s most impressive game fish the great barracuda in this conservation corner segment.

 

You may also like to have a look at these posts from my blog:

This entry was posted in Fish and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Barracuda Jumps into Boat (Video)

  1. zannyro says:

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKKKKK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Madhu says:

    I echo that screech! Terrifying!

  3. viveka says:

    Not a fish I would like to meet on a dark path – amazing how it could jump … Thanks for this.

  4. mj monaghan says:

    Unbelievable. Can’t believe it could jump that high and fast.

  5. Windsmoke. says:

    He’s definitely a scary fella the stuff of nightmares🙂.

  6. Hey Mags – for some reason, the 40lber didn’t want me t watch him on the video. I shall have to imagine it… No thanks!!!🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi This Sydney Life,
      I’m sorry you couldn’t see the video’s. It always makes me wonder why when things like that happen. Still I hope you enjoyed reading the bit of info on the barracuda.

  7. blackwatertown says:

    Yikes – scary.

  8. niasunset says:

    WOW! This is incredible… I would have been shocked… Thanks dear Mags, love, nia

  9. Oh meeeeeeee, oh myyyyyyyyyy – I’m pretty sure I just wet my pants!

  10. aFrankAngle says:

    Holy Spoiled Pants Batman! That was definitely a surprise addition to the boat.

  11. El Guapo says:

    I think the guy got lucky. That fish probably would have snapped his rod if he tried to land it.

  12. Another reason not to go fishing. Wow – scary!

  13. lolabees says:

    Whoa! Bad aim on the part of the barracuda. I imagine he would have preferred to have landed elsewhere.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi lolabees,
      I’m sure the barracuda was not expecting to land where he did, it was definitely a “I should of looked before I leaped” moment.😀

  14. megtraveling says:

    I’ve never seen anything like this! It was exciting – ok, a little scary…🙂

  15. Stepping My Way to Bliss says:

    Haha! I don’t know why but I thought the instant replays were funny. Of course, if it had happened to me in real life, I wouldn’t find it funny…at all.

  16. I think I’ll stick with Koi; did you see my blog on the ones in our backyard pond? The most violent they ever get is during their mating ceremonies.

  17. hotlyspiced says:

    That’s one way to get a fish in your boat. I had no idea they could jump like that. That fisherman sure does look surprised xx

  18. Fishing is not my cup of tea, the whole thing is too much for me. After watching this video I think I’m happy with my choice. Haha!

  19. dearrosie says:

    Hi Mags,
    Good gracious I had no idea a fish could jump like that. What a nice surprise for the fisherman.

  20. Oh, wow! That is both cool and scary. Look at those sharp teeth. I wonder what would happen if it’s a Tiger Shark? Exciting post. Thanks.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi island traveler,
      Very sharp teeth, the guy on the boat was very lucky it didn’t hit him in the face, those teeth are like needles, gives you a bit of a shiver.🙂

  21. barb19 says:

    Wow – that was scary! Glad I don’t go fishing!

  22. Selma says:

    Now that was unexpected. I would have been freaking out. Yikes😯

  23. starlaschat says:

    I can’t imagine catching one of these fish! It was interesting seeing what I Barracuda looks like I have heard of them but I don’t think I’ve ever seen one. Thanks.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi starlaschat,
      They are a dangerous fish to be around, their teeth are very sharp and are made for tearing their prey apart, not something you would like to came face to face with.🙂

  24. travelrat says:

    ‘Looks like we’re gonna need a bigger boat!’ (Richard Dreyfuss: ‘Jaws’)

  25. susielindau says:

    Oh man that is one nasty fish!

  26. starlaschat says:

    I found myself singing this song in my kitchen. :+)

  27. dfb says:

    Goodness me!

  28. adinparadise says:

    Wow, that was quite something!😉

  29. navarblog says:

    Now I see why Starla was singing “Barracuda” all morning. Nice post. It would be quite a rush to have it jump into the boat like that. They remind me of Northern Pike that we have in Montana.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi navarblog,
      It certainly would be a rush, a bit of adrenaline pumping as well I assume.🙂
      I have seen videos of the Northern Pike, just amazing.

  30. reb says:

    What a shock, to get that thing in the boad … presence of mind must be key there. The TEETH of that guy!!!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi reb,
      The teeth are unreal aren’t they, can you even imagine if this fish got hold of you in some way, they are born to tear away flesh.😯

  31. “WHOAAA!” to the first video, and I couldn’t get past the SEA TURTLE in the second!!!! SEA TURTLE! I saw a SEA TURTLE!

  32. Fergiemoto says:

    YIKES! Keep away from those teeth!
    However, if I’m trout fishing, I wouldn’t mind if a trout jumped right into my hands.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Fergiemoto,
      The teeth are very scary, not something you would like to be too close to.
      Oh yes trout would be more than welcome.😀

  33. Charming little creatures! They look prehistoric.

  34. Wow that would make you jump! Great videos!

Leave a Reply

