New York’s Smallest Apartment? (Video)

Living in an apartment like this would not suit me I’m afraid, not at all, I love space, I love room to move around, I love to have too much cupboard space, I also like to have a kitchen that I can cook in. 🙂 I suppose I just don’t like clatter, and to me anyway the more space you have the less clatter there seems to be. This Lady is obviously very organized with the little space that she has, I think I would be in a hell of a mess if I had to move into something like this.

THERE’S small and then there’s this apartment – a US woman has spent three years living in a 8.3 square metre room in New York’s Upper West Side – so tiny the ceiling is less than 60 centimetres from her face when she sleeps.
Read more in news.com.au.

You may also like:-
Architect Turns Shoebox Apartment into 24 Rooms (Video) :- Hong Kong.

This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New York’s Smallest Apartment? (Video)

  1. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Oh my! My daughter is planning to move to New York in July. Wonder what her small space will be like! I had to laugh, if I stood on a chair on wheels like she did in this video, I’m quite sure it would roll and I’d fall off of it in a flash…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Barbara,

      😆 I thought exactly the same thing about the chair, it would of definitely rolled for me, I wouldn’t be game to stand on something like that.
      I hope your daughter finds something nice that suits her, it’s always hard when looking for a place to live that fits into the budget.

  2. bronxboy55 says:

    I actually like the idea of a tiny space, although that apartment isn’t much bigger than a jail cell. A small kitchen would be nice. I don’t think I could sleep with my face that close to the ceiling. One good sneeze and I’d be unconscious.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi bronxboy55,
      I would definitely have to have a kitchen, I think I would be totally lost without one. “One good sneeze and I’d be unconscious” I could actually see that happening 🙂

  3. travelrat says:

    I didn’t think they came much smaller than the apartment of my French friends … 1 bedroom, bathroom, kitchen/dining room and toilet in a 2-storey apartment in a space little bigger than my hall and stairs.

    This one reminds me of those ‘capsule hotels’ … where there’s just about room for your bed and your luggage, and you have to lie on the bed to change your trousers.

    (Space isn’t everything … I stayed at a hotel once, where I got a kitchenette and a lounge I could U-turn an 18-wheeler in included in the price … but had to pay €2 an hour for wifi!)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      It’s amazing when you think about what this Lady has achieved to do with only 90 square foot of room.

      The little sleep boxes at the airports are really only good for that nap if you have a long wait for the next flight, but your right they would be hard to change your cloths in, such a tiny space, you may be better off changing cloths in the main bathroom area, at least you can stand up. 🙂

  4. I’m not sure I could live like that. I think I’d get a little claustrophobic. On the other hand, it appeals to me a little because there’s so little to clean.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi AA,
      I am really sure I would never be able to live in such a place. But you have found I think the only up side to this apartment, very, very easy to clean. 🙂

  5. I was just writing about this woman’s video on my blog. I can’t believe in her 40s she lives in such a small space. Really, the only part that’s bad is not having a full kitchen. I don’t know about her, but if I didn’t have a kitchen I’d end up spending a lot more on eating out!

    However this does make me wonder if I could live in a place that small outside of NYC and save on rent. There are places available that would be cheap… and why not?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi HECC,
      Yes a kitchen is a must for me as well. If the rent is right, and that’s is what is in your budget, then it is something you would just get used to I think. From what was said in the video, the rent is a good price for the area, so as you say why not.
      Thank You for visiting and your comment.

  6. Pingback: Somewhat Stylishly Versatile « Mostly Bright Ideas

  7. Margie says:

    Our first apartment had a bathroom even smaller than that. We had to step over the toilet to get into the shower, and the door wouldn’t close if we were sitting on the “throne”. There was no bathroom sink. We did have a real kitchen though.
    It certainly motivated us to work hard and move up to something a bit bigger!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Margie,
      I can see how that would give you a lot of motivation to move to something bigger, but still, when you first start out, the cheaper the rent the better, so you can save to get something more appropriate. Good on you for being able to handle something that small, I don’t think I would be able to that.

Leave a comment