This is a Big Snake:- Real or Fake? (Picture)

The picture of the snake below is going around in e-mails, it originally started off in Australia, most say the picture was taken in Cardwell Queensland, but the area has been changed in some e-mails.

There was a story about this snake in NBN saying the photo was taken in The Hunter Valley.
Read about it here.

A day later NBN contacted some experts to find out what type of snake it was, they seem to think it may be fake. Read about it here.

On some e-mails, it is mentioned that it was a King Brown, but if you have seen a King Brown they are a bit different than this snake.
Here in OZ we have over 140 different land snakes and about 32 different sea snakes. You do see snakes on the road and in the grass beside the road here in OZ. This photo is a bit of a hot topic at the moment. After I recieved this photo in an e-mail I went searching, I first found the article in the NBN then I found it was mentioned in the Hoax-Slayer, comments in here are interesting. 🙂

(Thank You for the photo John)

This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to This is a Big Snake:- Real or Fake? (Picture)

  1. malc50 says:

    Hi Mags, It could possibly be real. I’ve seen a python that long on a back road near Tinaroo Dam on the Atherton Tablelands in the early 1960s. If it is real, it would more likely come from the Tropical North, than from the Hunter Region, I would think. It looks like Sugar Cane in the background, so Cardwell is a possibility. Since growing tobacco went out of fashion, they grow Sugar Cane up around Mareeba theses days (with irrigation from Tinaroo Dam), so it could possibly be the Atherton Tablelands. Cheers, Mal.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      I tend to agree, we do have snakes at this size, and it is cane fields in the background, which would make Cardwell more believable. In comments in the Hoax-Slayer, someone said it was Ballina and the snake was cement, but it doesn’t look like cement to me, the curves in the snake are perfect for the way this snake would move. Not only that but why would you have an expensive statue, that close to the side of the road? I also think this snake is the real deal.

  2. Rebekah says:

    Either way, it’s one long snake!

    Sometimes I find it a little tiresome that nowadays you never know about pictures you see … how much photoshopped they are.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rebekah,
      You are certainly right about photo’s. It is terrible to think that a lot of people are always looking at a photo and wondering if it is photoshopped, it is a shame really. I’m sure there are some genuine photo’s out there that have been wrongly put down to photoshop.

      • Rebekah says:

        Some of them are so well done so it’s almost impossible to determine. I watched a nature programme a while back, about some guys who’d found an enormous boar … they had a photo of the two of them holding it up… This show, whatever it was, had it analysed and eventually found out that it WAS photoshopped. Otherwise they thought it would be some almost pre-historic, extinct animal…

        • magsx2 says:

          It is exactly things like that, about the boar, that make people skeptical of all photo’s, it’s a shame people do this, and wrong also I feel.

          • Rebekah says:

            yea, I feel that it’s wrong too, even though I appreciate they’re having a lot of fun while they’re doing it LOL … The thing is, this is probably a real snake, but it’s like we’ve lost the sense of awe because of all this — instead we find ourselves gazing at details, trying to find out whether it’s real or not …

            Either way, this will not go away, so I guess we’ll just have to accept it 🙂

          • magsx2 says:

            Very well put Rebekah. That is spot on.

  3. souldipper says:

    I am very content that I live on an island where we only have garter snakes – except for the silly people who think it’s cool to buy dangerous snakes and keep them as pets. 32 species of sea snakes? Oh No! More reasons for me to stay out of the ocean! 😀

  4. starzyia says:

    I’m going to pray its fake! I really, really, hate and fear snakes!

  5. I hope it’s real. I can’t stand snakes myself, but the thought of something this long and special still out there, and not some snake skin pocketbook, makes me happy. I agree with you Mags, respect is the way to go. But easy for me to say, half-way around the globe, knowing this snake won’t be in MY backyard!! Phew.

  6. Pingback: 6-26-2011 Dream Fragment Snake Eats Another Snake « John Jr's WordPress Blog

  7. travelrat says:

    This looks false … I’m no zoologist, but do snakes really adopt that Nessie-like head-up pose when transitting? Most snakes I’ve seen, you have to really look out for, and make sure you’re not going to find it by stepping on it.

    Mind you, a guy that size probably feels he has no reason to hide! 😀

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      You bring up a good point, I’m trying to think if I have seen a snake moving or stopped with it’s head up, I will most likely be thinking about this for the rest of day. 😆
      I really can’t recall if I have seen a snake do this or not, isn’t it funny I’ve seen a lot of snakes, here and there, I have certainly seen a snake raise it’s head, but usually before striking, or getting ready to climb a tree.

      • jmdb6572 says:

        I have seen a brown snake with its head in this position in my chook pen here south of Brisbane. I have a friend who just today found a 5.5metre long snake skin in her back yard. Don’t know what sort of snake as yet, still looking into it.

        • magsx2 says:

          Hi jmdb6572,
          Yes there have been a few snakes around Brisbane that’s for sure. 5.5 m is truly a large snake skin, it does make you wonder where on earth the snake is now, a bit of a scary thought.
          Thank You for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  8. malc50 says:

    Interesting there was a 5.5 metre python in a Cairns ceiling on the seven news. Check out http://au.news.yahoo.com/video/national/watch/21149723/

  9. malc50 says:

    Actually that last link went to the wrong news item – try http://au.news.yahoo.com/video/national/watch/25908690/885697/2/

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Mal,
      OMG fancy having that living in your ceiling 😯 that is unreal.
      I went looking for this video on YouTube but unfortunately couldn’t find it. 😦

  10. magsx2 says:

    @ travelrat,I can now say for sure that these large snakes do lift their heads, while I was looking in YouTube for the video that Mal above saw, I found this video. Right at the end of the video, the snake is moving to go under the car, you can see that the snake is moving with it’s head held up.

    • travelrat says:

      I just remembered … the French word for a Grass Snake is ‘couleveur’ … literally, ‘neck-raiser’. So, it seems some snakes do it.

      @malc50. In some places in Africa, they actually welcome pythons in the house, as it’s much more effective than a cat at controlling the mice!

  11. malc50 says:

    Hi Mags, A Photo Gallery of Cairns snakes may be found at http://tools.cairns.com.au/photo_gallery/photo_gallery_popup.php?category_id=14585&offset=14 . This morning’s “Townsville Bulletin” contained a story of a female and four male snakes wrecking the ceiling of the Cairns Outrigger Canoe Club with love-making and the males fighting over the female. Cheers, Mal.

  12. magsx2 says:

    Hi Mal,
    Wow! That photo is unreal, the damage the snakes done is incredible, the ceiling looks nearly demolished, even behind the guy on the ladder you can see more damage, they are also huge snakes :shock:. Thank you for the link.

  13. Pingback: Snake Attacks: Australia (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

  14. OH MY GOSH.
    EEK!
    Only downside that I can see, in visiting Australia!

  15. thomas peck says:

    Mmmm, bit off putting when I’m thinking of visiting Oz!! Mind you, my wife got bitten by a tiny viper and ended up in hospital…. Shows size isn’t everything.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Thomas,
      What a frightening time that must of been for your wife, I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to get bitten.
      We have a lot of different snakes here in Oz, but like most animals, if you leave them alone and don’t corner them they will leave you alone. If you do decide to come to Oz for a holiday, I know you will have a great time regardless of which areas you decide to visit. 😀

  16. Pingback: My Blog Review for 2012 from WordPress | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a comment