Tiniest Tortoise Star: Taronga Zoo Australia (Video)

This tiny little tortoise that was born at Taronga Zoo in Sydney is a called a “Star Tortoise” and they are originally from India. They are slightly different than your normal tortoise because of the star like patterns on their backs. This tiny little tortoise is named “Little Guy” and was only 1 week old when the video was taken.

“Little Guy” was hatched on the 24th of January 2012, and it is only the second time in 30 years that zoo keepers have bred this species of turtle. “Little Guy” was the only egg that was fertile so h/she is very special indeed. The sex of the turtle is not yet known.

This entry was posted in Animals, Australia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Tiniest Tortoise Star: Taronga Zoo Australia (Video)

  1. wolke205 says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww how cute!!! And so rare! I hope they can bred more of them in future 🙂

  2. Frank says:

    Talk about a little one. Whew! Interesting shell on the adult!

  3. OMG–that is the cutest thing on earth (aside from you, of course, Mags)

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi weisserwatercolours,
      H/she is very cute, you just don’t realize how small some animals are when they are born. 🙂
      Awww, Thank You. 😀

  4. So precious! Little Guy already seems to have a personality. 🙂

  5. Stepping My Way to Bliss says:

    Absolutely darling. I have souvenir wood carved turtle about his same size…funny to see something so small walking around. ~~Bliss

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Stepping My Way to Bliss,
      I have seen those little souvenirs they are nice. I agree watching “Little Guy” walking around puts a smile on your face, just too cute. 😀

  6. How adorable. You find the neatest things.

  7. itty, bitty, teeny, weeny!

  8. Windsmoke. says:

    Very cute indeed and i would say worth a lot more than fifty cents if not priceless :-).

  9. Hey Mags – Love this! I have sent it on to my 7 year old nephew who is coming to visit in April. We shall go and see Little Guy. Thank you!

  10. pixilated2 says:

    Sharing!!! 😉 Thanks! ~ Lynda

  11. travelrat says:

    Cute!

  12. coolfeline says:

    Little Guy is really cute! Glad he’s around!

    Here, an extremely expensive tortoise was stolen from a pet store before Christmas. Herman, was his name. They were really upset and the police were looking all over for him. They found him last week so all is well. Herman was also tiny like that..

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi coolfeline,
      Yes Little Guy looks really cute in the video. 😀
      They were very lucky they found the tortoise, the police must of had an idea of who may have stolen it, it’s good that it all turned out well.

  13. barb19 says:

    Wow – he/she is so tiny and so rare! The adult shell is very interesting, different from the ‘normal’ kind of tortoise we see. Let’s hope they are able to breed more of these Little Guys!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi barb19,
      Their shells are gorgeous aren’t they, such a beautiful pattern, it is a shame only 1 survived, but hopefully in the future they will breed more. 🙂

  14. A magical little creature
    Thanks for showing him
    Ian aka Emu

  15. Oh my gosh — that little guy is SO adorable! Yet again, your blog delivers. Thank you for sharing that amazing video. Is it just me, or does everyone in Australia always seem so nice and friendly and eco-aware? 🙂 Love it. I’ll have to show that video to my son, he loves animals. Then he’ll want to go to Australia. Hmmm… Someday!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi happykidshappymom,
      I’m sure your son would love this Little Guy, and your right he is adorable. 🙂
      Some Aussies are eco-aware, some are not, no different than other places, but I’m sure we are all friendly. 😀

  16. E.C. says:

    So sweet. This truly is a special baby and a peach to be sure. I’ve never seen tortoises like this. Thank you for sharing about these special creatures with us. 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi E.C.
      They are really unusual aren’t they such a pretty shell, the way it is patterned and not smooth like most of other shells you see. 🙂

  17. starlaschat says:

    So small and cute and beautiful as an adult as well fun to see different breads of turtles beside the ones we are use to seeing here. The last couple of years Navar has rescued a few turtles from the middle of the road. It’s a stressful breading season for them as they often try and to cross a busy road. I’m not sure why the turtle crossed the road. Navar said to get to the other side. I think it has to do with breading or maybe looking for a mate I don’t know?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi starlaschat,
      They are very tiny when they are born, it is strange in a way to see the size compared to Mum. 🙂
      Unfortunately we also have had turtles trying to cross busy roads, but although not funny, as a lot do not make it, you still have to smile, as I couldn’t help but think of the old joke about the chicken crossing the road to get to the other side. 🙂

  18. Our zoo just finished hatching a clutch of these precious little babies, too! Thanks for sharing!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi becomingcliche,
      That is wonderful news. 😀
      We would be lost without our zoos, and it’s great the many different animals each care for. What part of the world is the zoo you are talking about?
      Thank You very much for visiting and taking the time to comment.

  19. El Guapo says:

    Very cool.
    Adult turtle doesn’t look too amused while being held…

  20. This little guy reminds me of your post featuring tiny monkeys. Are you the new mini-breed discoverer? One of the comments on my post was, “Will the next creature they discover be a miniature rhinoceros or zebra?”

    I would like to reblog this post, if I can figure out how to do it.

    Ronnie

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Ronnie,
      It does seem a bit that way doesn’t it. 🙂 For some reason I always happen to see the animal articles, maybe because I love all kinds of animals, I seem to spot these things while I’m reading.

  21. Reblogged this on morristownmemos and commented:
    This is another tiny animal found in Sydney, Australia. After all of you own miniature monkeys, perhaps you can put in your orders for one of these small and curious pets.

    Ronnie

  22. Wow! Cute Little Guy! Smiles. Those shells are so cute. Good to know that such a cute creature has not gone extinct. Having one as a pet would be cool. Lovely post!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi teeceecouncel,
      Yes it is good that this species of turtle is still around, and it seems will be with us for a long time thanks to the effort of different zoos and wildlife parks.

  23. Thank you for sharing this photo very interesting

  24. oops Thank you for sharing this video very interesting 🙂

  25. Selma says:

    He is tiny and beautiful. He can eat my hibiscus any time he wants. Awwww. I love him!

  26. dearrosie says:

    I agree with Melissa that your blog delivers Mags 🙂 And I love your reply that Ozzie’s are all friendly. 😀

  27. Fergiemoto says:

    So cute! I just love turtles!

  28. Handsome Little Guy. I had a tiny turtle in college…one night it was to cold on the windowsill where he enjoyed the sun each day, thereby, freezing that night. We had a lovely funeral with a dirge written by my friend Mary Anderson, daughter of Walter Anderson, the artist.

    Fifty years later, I still have the dirge and day fixed in my mind. Wonderful little procession to his final resting place underneath my bedroom window.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi purpleborough,
      Sounds like it was a wonderful little procession for the loss of your pet, it is amazing sometimes the things that seem to stay with us. I think that is wonderul that you still have the dirge, a lovely keepsake.

  29. Tony McGurk says:

    That definitely gets my Awwww… for the day. I haven’t been to Taronga for 20 odd years. We were regular visitors ‘cos whenever we took the kids into the city when we lived in Sydney they would always choose the Zoo when we asked them what they wanted to do.

    I noticed from your about page that you’re in Brisbane. We left there 6 years ago & returned to Tassie. We spent 5 years there & finally came back home as we just couldn’t cope with the heat anymore. Loved Brizzy as a place, beautiful city, but the heat was just too much for us. We lived at Caboolture, Redcliffe & Bellbird Park. Redcliffe was our favourite but moved to BB Park for cheaper rent when rents started getting too expensive for us at Redcliffe

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Tony,
      He is definitely a little cutie. 🙂
      I haven’t been to Tarongo Park Zoo for many years either unfortunately, but it is a fantastic zoo.

      Oh yes, it does get very hot here, and as I get older I do feel the heat more, although this summer as been fairly mild compared to what we usually get. I have been to Tassie but it was way back in the 80’s I did a couch tour, and throughly enjoyed it. It was new experience for me to have breakfast with a fire going in the fireplace in the restaurant, I went in February and it was cold, not being used to cold, I had a lot of trouble keeping warm. 🙂

  30. (S)he’s beautiful, Mags. I was screaming at the Zoo employee to “stop shaking the poor thing” while he was talking. It’s a wonder that (s)he didn’t get motion sickness. Mother is just gorgeous. Where’s father? Was he borrowed, or does he live at Taronga, too? Or is (s)he a “test-tube baby”?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      H/she is beautiful, I have no idea about Dad, he wasn’t even mentioned, I assume if they have done this breeding before that there is a male somewhere. 🙂

Leave a Reply

