Rare Butterfly Found: Queensland Australia (Picture)

This butterfly known as the Richmond birdwing butterfly seemed to just disappear from Queensland Australia, and had not been seen for over 50 years. This butterfly is one of Australia’s largest with a wingspan of 16 cm or 6.3 inches in females and 13 cm or 5.1 inches in males, so you can imagine the beauty of this butterfly being so large.

WELCOME BACK: The return of large numbers of the Richmond birdwing butterfly this summer has inspired nature lovers from across Australia. Picture: Justan Gregson. Source: The Sunday Mail (Qld)

The butterfly was rediscovered here in Queensland in the Gold Coast Hinterland while they were building the Tamborine Rainforest Skywalk (Travelrat has a good post on the Skywalk with his own video, check it out) One of the workers building the Skywalk who is a local,  recognised the butterfly. What are the odds?  The butterfly is now on the vulnerable species list, but has since been seen in other parts of Queensland as well.

There is a good article about the rediscovery of the butterfly in the Courier Mail.

If you would like to learn more about the butterfly itself, the best I found was from the
Wildlife and Ecosystems on the Queensland Government website.

Other Australian animals from my blog:

This entry was posted in Animals, Australia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Rare Butterfly Found: Queensland Australia (Picture)

  1. So colorful and so huge! It’s so exciting that the species reappeared after being missing for 50 years! Must go take a look at the sky-walk now…

  2. It is beautiful and enormous! Perhaps the rains have brought it back. Whatever it was, it is wonderful to have some good news about our endangered wildlife, for a change. Thank you, Mags.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      It is great news, and they seem to be seeing them a lot more in others areas of Queesnland as well, it’s good. 🙂

  3. starlaschat says:

    Beautiful what great colors! I’ll have to go and check out your links. I had a couple of butterflys that use to hang out in my small garden back home. It was so fun and relaxing to sit with a cup of coffee and just watch them fly from flower to flower.

  4. Margie says:

    I wonder how many other missing animals are not really missing, just staying clear of humans!

  5. dearrosie says:

    What a gorgeous creature. Thank you for sharing such encouraging news.

  6. wolke205 says:

    Butterflys are gorgeous creatures, adorable 🙂

  7. Lenore Diane says:

    Hello, Mags –
    The boys and I enjoy watching butterflies. Joe was just asking me if it was time for caterpillars yet. (Still a little early.) I am happy to hear a species was found rather than reading about another species was added to the list of extinction.

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    Colorful butterflies are interesting. A butterfly shows comes to my city ever year, which can be interesting. Last year was Brazil, but I’m not sure about this year’s show. I think you’ll enjoy this. http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/on-fluttering-designs/

  9. Lovely – just like a flying rainbow!

  10. travelrat says:

    Has Selma been here today, yet? She loves butterflies!

    I’ve seen a couple of TV programmes which gave a couple of instances where butterflies, thought to be extinct, have suddenly appeared in droves. You might like to read about my own experience, not 500 yards from where I live, at https://travelrat.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/painted-lady/

    Thanks for the link to the Skywalk post; I’ve had a few visitors come there from your blog today.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi travelrat,
      No she hasn’t but it is still very early in the morning here.

      A lovely photo of the butterfly in your blog, it is good to see that what was thought to be gone is back and also multiplying as well. 🙂

  11. Hey Mags – great to have a ‘good news’ nature story. Cheers! 🙂

  12. Windsmoke. says:

    I actually went out into the garage to find my ruler to get an idea of how big 13 cm’s is. It’s very big indeed for a butterfly almost the size of a small plate :-).

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Windsmoke,
      Yes they are very large, so you can imagine how the colours would really stand out on this butterfly, really beautiful. 🙂

  13. The Emu says:

    Some beautiful species up north
    An ex army mate of mine runs a butterfly house at Saunders creek north of Townsville if you ever get that way , its a giant aviary where they breed and fly free
    Emu

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi The Emu,
      I will remember that next time I am up that way, we have some beautiful butterfly houses here in OZ, I have been to a couple of them. 🙂

  14. Rebekah says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a beautiful butterfly before! The colours!!! They are awesome!

    Welcome back 🙂

  15. What a beautiful butterfly! It’s colors are just breathtaking 🙂 my sister and I would run and follow them when we were little. I can’t wait to start seeing butterflies again in the spring!
    -Adri

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Adri,
      Spring is a lovely time of year, and you always see the butterfly’s once the flowers start blooming again. Our Autumn started on the 1st of March, but there are still heaps of beautiful plants in full bloom at the moment. 😀

  16. tempo says:

    So how does something vanish for 50 years and still be doing quite well…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi tempo,
      I really don’t know, it just seems one of those things. There were some seen in other parts of OZ, but only a very small number, they were on the vulnerable species list, but I haven’t read any explanation on why these butterfly’s are now increasing.

  17. barb19 says:

    They are absolutely stunning – and so big!
    I’d love to know why they haven’t been seen for 50 years till now. Perhaps all the rain we have been having lately has something to do with their sudden appearance again?

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi barb19,
      There used to be a lot of them in Brisbane at one stage in history, it would be lovely to see these huge butterfly’s return to the city gardens.
      I really don’t know they have turned up again, but we have had a lot of droughts and floods in 50 years, I think it will remain a mystery. 🙂

  18. Laura says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a butterfly that large. Beautiful picture.

  19. Acep Aprilyana says:

    beautiful butterfly…
    colorful its awessome…. 🙂

  20. Magnificent! I’ve been to butterfly houses where you get to experience several varieties but nothing as large as this. And the colors! Thanks for sharing.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi writingfeemail,
      I also love the butterfly houses, I have only been in a butterfly house twice, but they are magical to walk through. 🙂
      Yes there is not many variety’s of butterfly’s that are this large, a really magnificent animal.

  21. Rayya says:

    Mags thanks for a great post. There is nothing more refreshing then rediscovering the existence of a rare and spectacular species. I hope they can install strategies to preserve this species of butterfly & prevent its extinction. I think anyone who gets to see one of these butterflies is very lucky!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Rayya,
      It is fantastic that these beautiful butterfly’s seem to be coming back in all their glory. 🙂
      I agree, I would consider myself very lucky if I saw one close up.

  22. Selma says:

    I’m so happy to read about this. What a truly exquisite creature. The colours really lift your spirits. How wonderful!

  23. E.C. says:

    This is awesome. I love that such beauty and peace is still on the wing. It’s so great the species is still alive. 🙂

  24. EternalForms says:

    Beautiful!! i think that’s even bigger than the largest one in the States – the Giant Swallowtail.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Eternal Forms,
      They are huge, can you imagine photographing one of these butterfly’s that are actually bigger than the plant. 😀

  25. I love the butterflys, I pressed on the Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog.
    Thank you for sharing.

  26. I think there’s is nothing more beautiful created in nature than the butterfly. the colors, the wings so transparent. The fact that they migrate thousands of miles. and now, finding this gorgeous species. sensational. if I had nothing else to do in life, I’d sit and watch butterflies pass by me all day.

    Wonderful article.

  27. David Wofford says:

    Wow! It’s my first time to see this butterfly. This is very huge and very pleasing to the eyes. Do you know how many of these species are left and what flowers do they love to feed on?

    David Wofford
    For those interested on butterfly flowers and how to attract the butterflies. You can visit these links.

    http://www.my-butterfly-garden.com/34/butterfly-flowers/
    http://www.my-butterfly-garden.com/198/how-to-attract-butterflies/

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi David,
      Yes they are a very rare butterfly. You can find a lot of information in the link to Wildlife and Ecosystems in my post.
      I had a look at your website, very nice. 😀

  28. Fergiemoto says:

    That’s amazing! Such a beautiful butterfly!

  29. Tony McGurk says:

    Beautiful colours. Amazing that after not being seen for 50 years they suddenly appear.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Tony,
      It is amazing, but it is good to know that there are more of these butterflys seen as time goes on, their size of course is what makes them unique. 😀

  30. Pingback: Quokka: Rottnest Island Australia (Video) | Magsx2's Blog

Leave a comment