Surfing Dog Spectacular: Noosa Australia (Video)

The first ever Surfing Dog Spectacular was held at Noosa Beach here in Queensland, it was a first for Australia. The organizers VetShopAustralia.com.au was not sure how it was going to turn out, but people came from everywhere to watch the event, a great success I would say. It was all part of the Noosa Surfing Festival which ran from March 11 to 17- 2012.

                           Noosa is about 145 kilometers or 91 miles from Brisbane.

Surfs up: Chris De Aboitiz with his surf dogs Lani and Rama. They kicked off the Noosa Festival of Surfing on Sunday. Picture: Megan Slade (via news.com.au.)

Former world tandem surfing champion Chris De Aboitiz lead the way with four of his dogs Lani, Rama, Murf and Mango. However Rama an 11 month old kelpie cross was awarded the Silver Dog Bowl for his great surf.

Read more about this event at VetShopAustralia, Surfing Dog Spectacular.

This entry was posted in Animals, Australia, Fun, Queensland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Surfing Dog Spectacular: Noosa Australia (Video)

  1. niasunset says:

    Oh My dear Mags, you are so nice for all these beautiful sharings, this is so beautiful, so lovely, I watched it again and again… I can’t believe how they stay on these surf… They are amazing dogs… and they fall into the sea… It should be great fun for them… I loved it so much, Thank you, have a nice and enjoyable day, with my love, nia

  2. As much as my dog loves the water, she would probably be a natural at this. Too bad I’m a total klutz and don’t surf! Love this post though.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi writingfeemail,
      Same here, I don’t surf either, you would think I would coming from Queensland with our sun,surf and sand, but I always left it to others, but I’m pretty sure I would not of been able to stay on the board. 😀

  3. Its so cool the way the woof enjoyed surfing
    What a cute and Fun post 🙂
    Have a lovely funday 🙂

  4. At first I thought the surfer was cruel to subject his dog to those shakeups of surfing. But after watching and seeing how much his dog enjoyed it, and then seeing other dogs on the boards with their owners, I realized that this was a fun day for two and four legged friends.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Ronnie,
      The dogs love it, they are trained of course from an early age to love the surf, and as you seen everyone had a fun day, dogs and humans. 😀

  5. I think we have a doggie theme going on! I love watching them!

  6. tempo says:

    Oh, my dogs are way to smart to trust me to surf with them….

  7. hotlyspiced says:

    If I entered my two dogs in this they would think I had signed them up for torture. They hate water! But isn’t it interesting how some dogs like nothing more than getting wet! And even want to surf! I think that’s wonderful. What a great idea xx

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi hotlyspiced,
      My dog loves the water, she is not that keen on salt water, when she was a puppy she swallowed heaps of it and of course got sick, since then she will only play with the waves in the shallow, but she loves swimming. 😀

  8. Elyse says:

    This was wonderful, Mags! You can see the care that the human surfers are taking to ensure that their dogs are having a good time too!

  9. pixilated2 says:

    Too funny! I noticed that none of the dogs fell off, but one of the fellas did! 😉
    ~ Lynda

  10. Frank says:

    This is too good … and the dogs are loving it! …. and what an interesting idea for a celebration.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Frank,
      It was a brilliant idea, this is what they did for the start of the surfing competition that is held at Noosa, the dogs did their thing and got rewarded then the comp started, I’m sure the dogs were a bigger hit. 😀

  11. When I read your headline I was afraid to look at the video, sure the dogs were going to be subjected to giant waves and wipe-outs. I was relieved to see the waters were relatively calm and the dogs were almost smiling!! Good time had by all. I laughed at one part of the video when the HUMAN fell off the board, but the dog kept tough, hanging twenty! 🙂

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi EOSR,
      Yes it was down the beach a bit from the human surfing competition, I’m glad you took the chance and clicked onto the post, and I’m glad you also enjoyed watching the dogs. Yes it was funny seeing the human lose it and dog on the board by himself. 😀

  12. Is that El G on one of those boards.

  13. starlaschat says:

    Fun watching the video nice close camera angle as well you could see the dogs smiling looks like they were having fun. :+)

    • magsx2 says:

      HI starlaschat,
      The camera work was very good, you were able to see a fair bit of the dogs, and I believe you are spot on, the dogs were smiling. 😀

  14. reb says:

    It was a lot of fun to watch this …and beautiful filming too! Amazing dogs, that managed to stay put on the board and enjoying it! Really cute and fun!

  15. So funny! THese are truly remarkable pups!

  16. Stepping My Way to Bliss says:

    As cute and funny as the video was, I think I got more laughs from my imagination placing Rockefeller on a board and doing this. LOL! Then of course, i had to imagine myself on the board…suddenly it wasn’t funny anymore. ; ) ~~Bliss

  17. E.C. says:

    Who’d of ever thunk it! 😆 “Surfing Dog Spectacular ” What good fun! It looks like the dogs are loving it as much as the humans. Cool Post Dudette! 🙂

  18. I love the way most dogs love to be with their masters no matter what their master loves doing! 🙂

  19. Indira says:

    Your posts are very enjoyable.

  20. Doraz says:

    Smiling in CA. 🙂

  21. El Guapo says:

    Coolest thing I’ve seen in a while!
    The dogs are better at if than me!
    Sigh…

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi El Guapo,
      I just said that on the discussion with you and John, the dogs are awesome, and don’t they love standing on the surf boards. 😀

  22. Cat Forsley says:

    SORRY IF I SEEMED RUDE …..
    I AM A BLIND BLOGGER / ARTIST WHATEVER AND SOMETIMES – I JUST THINK LINKS ARE SPAM –
    MUCH LOVE X CAT

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Cat,
      No problem, links are often put in comments for one reason or another, it is up to anyone reading if they wish to click onto them or not, you will find though that most bloggers check out links before they allow them onto their blogs. 😀

  23. How wonderful for the dogs; brought their humans along for the ride :)!
    Sounds like a great time!

  24. munchow says:

    It’s amazing to see how the dogs can «hold on» to the boards. Once again I enjoyed your cool post. Thanks for sharing.

  25. barb19 says:

    Fantastic movie clip Mags! I was a bit worried for the dogs at first, but you could see how the surfer was careful with each wave, making it easier for the dog to stay on – in spite of them taking a nose-dive (wipeout)! The dogs really enjoyed it – great stuff, thanks for sharing.
    Going to share it on my FB page!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi barb19,
      Oh yes the dogs are much more talented than their owners, only the owners fall off the boards. 😆
      Thank You Barb, I hope your friends enjoy watching the dogs. 😀

  26. pretty amazing! i want a surfing dog lol :p. .i would name him surfer.

  27. Not all of the dogs looked 100% happy.

    I have a complaint, Mags. Why isn’t the Australian Capital Territory on the map? I know we’re small but we do house the nation’s capital and you can’t get rid of the Federal Government just by dropping us off the map. If only it were that simple!

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi Lady Marilyn,
      I actually wondered the same thing about the map, there wasn’t many choices that were in the public domain that actually showed where Noosa was. I don’t have the ability to make my own I’m afraid.

  28. blueberriejournal says:

    That is so cool…

  29. To me, this epitomizes my notions of Australia. Haha! I really need to visit this fun country. I may never want to leave.

  30. How cool a way was that to start off my Friday! Hang loose (or hang ten?!…I don’t remember, it been a long time since I was around any sort of surfing! :)) Whatever the case, I enjoyed this post immensely – thanks!

  31. Linda Vernon says:

    Ah! I want to go! How fun to watch. Those dogs are loving it too! Luckies!

  32. dearrosie says:

    When I see what dogs can do and how much fun they’re having it makes me feel selfish to think we own dogs to keep them locked up in the house all day doing nothing but sleeping.

    • magsx2 says:

      Hi dearrosie,
      It really is amazing what you can teach some dogs, and if it’s fun for everyone well that is even better. 🙂
      Teaching dogs different tricks is not easy, it takes a lot of time, and there is no need for you to feel selfish at all, you work hard all day, and dogs get used to the lifestyle they grow up in, and I’m sure your dogs are very happy and the most important thing is love, and I am sure they get plenty of that. 🙂

      • dearrosie says:

        Thank you Mags. You’re such a supportive friend.

        Our Monty is one of the smartest dogs I’ve ever known. I’m sure we can put him on a surfboard and he’ll be smiling along with the others having a marvelous time.

  33. Donna Amis Davis says:

    Phenomenal! Take some of the best things in the world – surf, dogs, the ocean – and put them all together. Terrific!

  34. Pingback: Noosa’s food festivities are almost here « eatingwithem

Leave a Reply

